• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Little folding question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kemon

Hey guys I have a really nice rig that I've got for gaming (see sig below). I would have no problems running it at night or when i'm not home and I was wondering if i could fold with it like every night and during the day when i'm not home? I want to do something for the folding team but unfortunately this is the best I can do (i'm a poor college student :bang head ). I might have one other machine that I could run 24 hours but not sure my parents would like the power i'm taking up running 2 computers almost all the time. Anyone know about how much it effects a power bill for running 2 computers almost 24 hours a day?

It's about the same as having a few light bulbs on. Considering you have a PCP&C KW PSU in that rig, I'd say the efficiency is excellent. I doubt your parents would notice anything (especially with summer coming up and the bill's going to go way up anyway).

We'd love to have you on the team...the cause and T32 can use all it can get! :welcome:

Yeah I also have an older P4 machine that was my gaming machine before this... i think i'm going to put it back together and find a spot for it in my room and just leave it on. Now I just need to figure out how to get this folding thing started, i'll read up on installing the software and what not.