• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New computer trouble... HALP!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Van Aerial

I recently decided to try and building my own computer since my old one (Sony Vaio Desktop) was just about to break. Since I'm a student at a college, I figured it would be cheaper to build my own computer plus a nice little side project to keep me busy during break.

Unfortunately, it's keeping me a little too busy.

I purchased a shuttle barebone system and after setting it up, I turn on the power... Loud squealing. Turned it off, turned it back on, same squealing. Decided to call it a day.

The next day, I figured out that I didn't plug the power source into the video card. Did that, plugged in monitor, turned on computer, Fans start up... Nothing.

At first I thought it was the video card, so I swapped out the video card but to no avail.

After searching high and low on google, I stumbled upon this forum. I read on the "Help my PC won't boot" guide that the motherboard should give out some beeps to help diagnose the problem and that the computer should at least boot with only the CPU, RAM, and Videocard. So I took out the HD, Card Reader, and DVD Writer, plugged in my speakers, turned on the computer... nothing... No beeps or anything. This time the fans wouldn't even start up

So now I'm pretty much desperate. I'm close to just caving in and going to a computer repair store, maybe geek squad, but I'm not even sure if they'll help. I'm also worried that Shuttle support wouldn't even help at all (if they do at least... I just don't really expect customer service anywhere to be good.)

Long story short.. Help?

Here's what I have:

Chassis:
Shuttle SX38P2-Pro
http://us.shuttle.com/barebone/Models/SX38P2_Pro.html