• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First do it myself build "ever" advice please!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ryansplacee

Ok a little background about me.... I have no experience building a computer except through dells websites used on the last two laptops i have purchased (most recent is 3 years ago) A lot has changed sense then and i have done a lot of research in the past few days trying to piece my hardware together for the best price/performance desktop. I have no over clocking experience but it is something that i would like to get into to help me increase my knowledge of computers and increase performance. I feel comfortable in my ability to struggle through and learn how to fit all the pieces together i just want your expert advice on what i have chosen and if i might be missing something.

Parts List

Case - COOLER MASTER RC-690
PSU - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Motherbord - ASUS RAMPAGE FORMULA LGA 775 Intel X48
CPU - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
GPU - SAPPHIRE 100243L Radeon HD 4870
RAM - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066
HDD - Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
Media Drive - LITE-ON 20X DVD±R DVD Burner
Display - Acer AL2216Wbd Black 22" 5ms Wide screen

Newegg wish list

Other thoughts

1)I was going to go with a 24" LCD display for the 1920 x 1200 resolution but can't seem to justify the price difference.
2)do i need a network card or is the motherbord good enough?
3)I may use crossfire set up in the future.
have a 56in samsung HDTV and i am excited about the Ethernet connection on the back of the videocard for easy hook up, i may get a blu-ray drive in the future and finally see what my TV can do.