Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Display and Sound Technology > HTPC
HTPC All your home theater PC needs.
Forum Jump

MPC-HC codecs

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-09, 12:12 AM Thread Starter   #1
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
MPC-HC codecs


Having problems with VMC crashing and dropping res to 16bit color depth and forcing files to 4:3 AR. Not sure if these files are responsible so I am removingthe Download for now until I figure it out.


After lots of experimenting I think I found the simplest method to get DXVA working.

Install windows, do your updates, install TV pack, power play update and both KBs associated with TV pack (simple google will get you the links). If you are using a tuner.


MPC-HC codecs are great, unfortunately they do not install so you are stuck using MPC.

So I whipped up a little app that installs all of the OS MPC codecs, and included a reg entry to let media center add MKV files to the library.

You can manually register them yourself (either via AX context menu hack so you can right click or type it our 20+ times)

Or use my little app

If you want to examine it, it is very simple.

DL the zip file and unzip it, you are left with an EXE file this is a WinRAR SFX file, so you can unRAR it. The file contains the codecs, the BAT file and the reg file.

Reg file allows MC to see mkvs in library, BAT file registers all the AX and one DLL file.

IF you are running Vista you may need to run the EXE as administrator, as I had it install to C:\codecs so I could have a common ground to call the regsvr. Not sure, it ran fine on mine, but I have UAC disabled.



Once you are comfortable with what I did, simply run the EXE file and it will register the codecs and the registry file.


If there is anything that is missing that you would like added, please let me know I will try and add it.

Thanks to the OS guys that have been keeping MPC updated.


Oh one last thing, this is the 32 bit codecs, if you ar erunning Vista 64 bit, Media center will need the 64 bit codecs. I will try building an installer, but will need someone to test it. These codecs will work in WMP 32bit player though which is the default WMP used in 64, you have to tell Windows to make 64bit WMP the default WMP if you install the 64bit codecs

Download removed temporarily.


EDIT: Despite what is said on AVS this seems to work for files tagged L4.1 or L5.1 on my ATI card.

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me

Last edited by Neuromancer; 01-26-09 at 02:06 PM.
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-09, 01:58 PM   #2
tgxiii
Member

 
tgxiii's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Folding @ Eagle Rock, CA

 
The installation looks bloated, IMO. Are all those filters really necessary?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neur0mancer View Post
EDIT: Despite what is said on AVS this seems to work for files tagged L4.1 or L5.1 on my ATI card.
Confused by this statement. Do you mean you got hardware acceleration working for L4.1 and L5.1 profile encoded videos, or simply that they just play?
tgxiii is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-09, 02:03 PM Thread Starter   #3
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
1) No all the filters are not neccessary, but I used all of them, so that WMP should play anything that MPC does, and since WMP plays it so should MC.




2) I mean that I have 2 videos that I fixed the tags for to try and get DXVA working before. Now all my videos play through my AIW/HD.

Typical CPU usage is ~5% and GPU usage under 5%

Without the DXVA, CPU usage ranges about 20% for my 720p files.

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-09, 04:34 PM   #4
tgxiii
Member

 
tgxiii's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Folding @ Eagle Rock, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neur0mancer View Post
2) I mean that I have 2 videos that I fixed the tags for to try and get DXVA working before. Now all my videos play through my AIW/HD.

Typical CPU usage is ~5% and GPU usage under 5%

Without the DXVA, CPU usage ranges about 20% for my 720p files.
Very interested in how you did this. I have some non-DXVA compliant high bitrate videos, and I'd like to get hardware accelerated playback working on them. Can you show me how you did this?
tgxiii is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-09, 06:44 PM Thread Starter   #5
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
I explained it in the first post.

Install windows, all drivers and updates. I installed TV Pack for my tuner, and the requisite addons, power play and the two (now 3) updates.

This is much harder to get working on a system that already has codec packs installed because post processing, vobsub and libva codecs are all non-dxva compliant. Uninstalling FFD show does not seem to fix it, fresh install is best.

Installed these codecs and the MKV reg file, and noticed that my videos were playing with very little cpu usage.

I tested it by turning on subtitles and watched cpu usage jump up to 20%. (vobsub breaks DXVA)


Just thought I would share my luck with this since, I was reading up on DXVA for a while and trying to get it to work, and had no luck until I reinstalled and tried the MPC-HC codecs only. I like using media center and WMP11, so MPC by itself was not an option for me.

I have not taken the time to try using SOME of ffdshows codecs, since they are supposedly much better at mpeg2 playback, but will eventually see if I can develop the best codec pack with DXVA still enabled.

Also, I have not checked to see if DXVA was working on VMC recorded TV shows or DVDs yet. Busy this weekend with my kids so I doubt I will get much of a chance.

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-09, 07:07 PM   #6
tgxiii
Member

 
tgxiii's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Folding @ Eagle Rock, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neur0mancer View Post
EDIT: Despite what is said on AVS this seems to work for files tagged L4.1 or L5.1 on my ATI card.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neur0mancer View Post
2) I mean that I have 2 videos that I fixed the tags for to try and get DXVA working before. Now all my videos play through my AIW/HD.

Typical CPU usage is ~5% and GPU usage under 5%

Without the DXVA, CPU usage ranges about 20% for my 720p files.
I think I'm misunderstanding something here. I should probably get things straight first.

This is what I understood from what you said above:

In the first quote, you mentioned that your method "files tagged L4.1 or L5.1." I'm assuming you meant hardware acceleration. Now, for L4.1 that's fine since L4.1 is still DXVA compliant, but L5.1 isn't.

Now, in your second quote. I understood it as saying that you have 2 videos encoded in a profile that normally isn't DXVA compliant (guessing L5.1 from the first quote), but you fixed the tags so the decoder thinks they're DXVA compliant, thus enabling hardware acceleration when you play those videos.

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

I already know how to get hardware acceleration working, but only for DXVA compliant videos. I'm wondering if there was some sort of hack that you did to get hardware acceleration working for non-DXVA compliant videos.
tgxiii is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-16-09, 07:17 PM Thread Starter   #7
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Yes I used the level_idc value utility at AVSforum to change 2 files when I was trying to get DXVA working before. Changed them to L4.1 was going to change my SD to L3.1

Most of my files I believe (will have to find a utility to dispaly that info) are L5.1

So far every movie I have played (about a dozen) has run off of the GPU.

Not saying this is everyones solution, but if you run MPC-HC and DXVA is working. Then installing these codecs will get it working for you in MC/WMP. I manually registered the AX files once and when I needed to do it again, I wrote the installer in about the same amount of time it would have taken to register them all. Thought I should share it since DXVA seems so hard to get working right, and since there are so many people building HTPCs now.

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-09, 03:16 AM   #8
Monouchi
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2009

 
I cant get the download?
It says "download removed temporarily"

I am also intersetd to try this, I am running an Ati card.
Monouchi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-09, 01:28 PM   #9
Wicked Klown
Hard Ass Southern Boy Senior

 
Wicked Klown's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sheboygan, Wisconsin

10 Year Badge
 
Here try this link.

__________________
Media Server | Norco RPC-470 | GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 | Phenom II X4 925 Deneb | 8gigs G.SKILL Ripjaws PC3 10666 | 64gig Crucial M4 | x2 2TB Samsung F3 | x2 1TB Samsung F1 | x1 2TB Samsung F4 | 500gigs Seagate 7200.10 | Sapphire HD4830 HDMI | Corsair 650hx

HEAT

"Never surrender. You're too much of a hardass to die on everyone." - Voodoo Rufus
Wicked Klown is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-09, 07:16 AM   #10
Monouchi
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2009

 
Thanks, thats the codec.

But I do wanted to try Neuromancers zip file with BAT files and all.
Monouchi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-09, 04:09 PM   #11
Spion
Member



Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: KC

 
I've been using the MPC-HC codec in conjunction with media portal for dxva and it has been working beautifully with all my x264/VC-1 files (all are dxva compliant)

also, subtitles + dxva can work together, however the only way i know how to do this is with the the MPC-HC player.

__________________
Nova
AMD FX-8120 | 4x4GB RAM | Visiontek HD4850 | BIOSTAR TA990FXE
Seasonic S12 620W | WD 640GB Black Edition | 128GB OCZ Petrol
HTPC Frontend
OEM Production E350-10B0 | AMD E-350 | 4GB RAM
Openelec Beta - Eden | 30GB OCZ Agility
Fileserver
ASUS E35M1-M PRO | AMD E-350 | 8GB RAM
Freenas 8 (Customized) | 5x2TB in ZFS RaidZ
OCForums Metal Club member #3 | Heatware
Spion is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Display and Sound Technology > HTPC
HTPC All your home theater PC needs.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?