Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Is there a HDD mirroring software??

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-14-09, 08:20 PM Thread Starter   #1
GMdoubleG
Member



Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

 
Is there a HDD mirroring software??


Hello all,

I have a good friend who has an older laptop with an 80GB HDD that contains everything including his OS. He just bought a 250GB HDD to replace the one he has now and he wants to switch them out. His main problem is he has lost all the DVDs that came with the laptop including his XP Home Edition DVD with the activation code. Is there a freeware program, or inexpensive program, that will mirror his old HDD to his new HDD?

I have no experience with this kind of stuff so any suggestions will be great!!

Thanks

__________________
MoBo: ASUS P6T Deluxe 2
CPU: i7 920 D0
RAM: Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz
GPU: EVGA 480GTX
PSU: Corsair AX850W

Water Loop: Koolance 452X2->XSPC RX360->XSPC RX360->Apogee XT->EK 480GTX WB->Koolance 452X2

Gental Typhoon x 6
GMdoubleG is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-09, 08:27 PM   #2
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
acronis true image home. works awesome. use it all the time. The best way to probably do it would be to have an external hd and use the acronics bootable media on a flash drive or cd... boot up the acronis boot cd and do a full backup of the 80gb to the external... then put the new hd in and restore to the new hd.

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-09, 09:21 PM Thread Starter   #3
GMdoubleG
Member



Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

 
So when I use the boot CD, I boot the same way to would to load an OS?

__________________
MoBo: ASUS P6T Deluxe 2
CPU: i7 920 D0
RAM: Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz
GPU: EVGA 480GTX
PSU: Corsair AX850W

Water Loop: Koolance 452X2->XSPC RX360->XSPC RX360->Apogee XT->EK 480GTX WB->Koolance 452X2

Gental Typhoon x 6
GMdoubleG is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-09, 09:23 PM   #4
Trap05
Member

 
Trap05's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Yes you boot the same way

__________________
CoolerMaster 690
Antec HCG 620w
Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
G.Skill 8GB 1600
MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
SteamID trm2006
Trap05 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-09, 09:27 PM   #5
xtkxhom3r

 
xtkxhom3r's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Antonio,TX

 
i also recommend acronis it is a excellent program

__________________
[2600K - 4.5GHZ | Swiftech HeatKiller- MCR 120.3 - 6 Fans]
[MSI P67A-G45 | 2x4gb gskill]
[x2 7970's | EK vga blocks | MCR120.3 - 3 Fans | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty]
[x2 OCZ Vertex 3 raid 0 | x3 WD 3TB red | Coarsair 1000HX | Lian Li V2000 ]

Laptop Service Manuals

Dont forget to hit that thanks button!!
xtkxhom3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-09, 09:41 PM Thread Starter   #6
GMdoubleG
Member



Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

 
I assume everything will go smoothly, but if it doesn't, I can just plug the 80GB HDD back into the laptop and it will be the same, correct? The acronis program doesn't alter the files on the drive in any way?

__________________
MoBo: ASUS P6T Deluxe 2
CPU: i7 920 D0
RAM: Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz
GPU: EVGA 480GTX
PSU: Corsair AX850W

Water Loop: Koolance 452X2->XSPC RX360->XSPC RX360->Apogee XT->EK 480GTX WB->Koolance 452X2

Gental Typhoon x 6
GMdoubleG is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-09, 01:46 AM   #7
xtkxhom3r

 
xtkxhom3r's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Antonio,TX

 
yes the hdd will be fine all the program does is make a copy

__________________
[2600K - 4.5GHZ | Swiftech HeatKiller- MCR 120.3 - 6 Fans]
[MSI P67A-G45 | 2x4gb gskill]
[x2 7970's | EK vga blocks | MCR120.3 - 3 Fans | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty]
[x2 OCZ Vertex 3 raid 0 | x3 WD 3TB red | Coarsair 1000HX | Lian Li V2000 ]

Laptop Service Manuals

Dont forget to hit that thanks button!!
xtkxhom3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-09, 06:45 AM   #8
pharoer
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
Dunno if Acronis is free, This: http://www.runtime.org/driveimage-xml.htm however is free for personal use
pharoer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-09, 08:12 AM   #9
Shelnutt2
Overclockers Team Content Editor

 
Shelnutt2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: /home/

 
Pop in a linux lice cd and use the dd command.

__________________
Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
www.linuxfah.info

Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos
Shelnutt2 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-09, 08:16 AM   #10
pharoer
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelnutt2 View Post
Pop in a linux lice cd and use the dd command.
dd has a slight problem in that the backup will have the same 80GB partition as the original with the 170GB rest unpartitioned and "free"
pharoer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-09, 04:52 PM   #11
conway

 
conway's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007

 
Acronis True Image home is well-worth the price. Sometimes Newegg even has it for under $10.

__________________
cpu - Phenom II x4 810 @ 3640
motherboard - Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
ram - 8gb Kingston Hyperx 1066
video - GTX 560 ti
storage - 750 gb Seagate junker
psu - Silverstone ST56ZF
conway is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-09, 07:03 PM   #12
pinkles
Member

 
pinkles's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009

 
I have heard of this thing called "ghosting". I think that does what u are asking... i dont really know though, iv just hear that term thrown around a few times
pinkles is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-09, 07:05 PM   #13
conway

 
conway's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkles View Post
I have heard of this thing called "ghosting". I think that does what u are asking... i dont really know though, iv just hear that term thrown around a few times
Ghosting refers to cloning with Norton/Symantec Ghost

__________________
cpu - Phenom II x4 810 @ 3640
motherboard - Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
ram - 8gb Kingston Hyperx 1066
video - GTX 560 ti
storage - 750 gb Seagate junker
psu - Silverstone ST56ZF
conway is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-16-09, 10:44 AM   #14
visbits
Member

 
visbits's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by conway View Post
Ghosting refers to cloning with Norton/Symantec Ghost
I'm a fan of ghost, I like using network imaging.

__________________
Using Ubuntu does not make you good with linux.

HEATWARE
visbits is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-16-09, 02:27 PM   #15
pinkles
Member

 
pinkles's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009

 
ohh, normally when I see the word "Norton" I run as fast as I can the other direction
pinkles is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-16-09, 02:42 PM   #16
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Ghost is not bad, and was the standard for a long time. I also recommend Acronis TI been running it since build 7 and love it. Great for installing OSes onto raid setups too

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?