• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

malware, viruses and bad juju in Win7?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

FudgeNuggets

I've been using OSX for a few years now and to be perfectly honest the Snow Leopard update has some issues and I'm kind of tired of running VMware.

The big question is that malware, viruses, trojans and just generally bad juju were rampant in XP. An honest mistyping of http://badjuju.com as http://badjuuju.com could cause you hours of frustration and running spybot, adware, virusscan etc.....

Had this been curtailed any with Windows 7? I can certainly avoid and handle these issues but I'm not the only user of the machine.

My only other option would be to go with Linux but then it's back to the VM again........

Viruses/malware/etc. can all be easily avoided by using proper Anti-virus/firewall in combination with safe surfing habits. I've used Win2k/XP/Vista/Win7 and have yet to ever get a virus. All about taking the necessary precautions.

Based on some reports from a few anti-virus things I've seen online, it seems Win7 has fewer infections, but it also has less users so I can't say it's "safer".

In addition to standard antivirus, anti-malware & firewall implimentations, it's wise to set up accounts for other users with limited privelages. That should help in preventing someone else from completely borking your system.

The short answer is no, Win 7 does not curtail one's exposure to malware. The reality is that any OS from Microsoft will be prone to malware attack simply because of their monopoly. If you're a hacker, what OS are you going to target? How about the one that everybody is using, that sounds like a good target.