• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Let there be RAID!!!! Building Raid-0 with a pair of 80GB Intel SSDs

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mattspalace

I been Dolk'ed Senior
I've been messing with SSDs for a few months now and recently picked up an 80GB Kingston Rev-2 of their M-series, with about 99% certainty that it would be an exact copy of my current X25mG2.
The good news, it is an exact copy like I had thought; the bad news, it shipped with 02HA firmware (the bad Intel firmware). But I simply flashed to 02HD just like my current Intel drive and all is good. The Kingston drive IS an Intel drive; even the mobo bios recognizes it as Intel. I saved $50 buying the Kingston. :D
If you're interested in the drive, here is an egg link for it: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...m_re=kingston_m-series-_-20-139-072-_-Product

It is these two drives that I'll be using to build up a Raid-0 configuration under Windows 7 Pro. Not sure if I'm going to clone my current drive and copy it back to the RAID or do a complete re-install. I'll figure that out as I go.

I'll also be using one of these little handy 2.5" to 3.5" Silverstone adapters that just happens to hold two SSDs.

A couple of pics:

First, the goodies I'll be using.

IMG_2461.jpg

Second, SSDs mounted in the adapter and ready to install.

IMG_2462.jpg

Last edited: