• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Designing/Building Dual/Triple Monitor Stand. Please read!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ibay19

Registered
Hi guys, I am designing (almost done) and plan to build an amazing dual/triple monitor stand out of aluminum. I am disappointed at the offerings available so I decided to design my own and make it (I am a mechanical engineer).

I am still getting in touch with all the suppliers so I am still not 100% sure how much the materials will cost to assemble one, but I am just wondering if there is a demand for great looking and more importantly quality monitor stands?

My current design will be a Dual Stand on which you can easily attach parts to make it a triple monitor stand (or 4, 5, 6, etc..). One reason I want to do this is because I have two monitors now and I bought a dual monitor stand (which is just horrible for $250) and now that I need to upgrade to 3 screens...I can only throw that one away or re-sell it on ebay.

What do you guys think? I will post pictures of the Solid Works 3d model soon and will post pictures of the actual stand once I get all the materials and assemble the first one.

I'd love to hear your thoughts/opinions/suggestions! Thank you all!

:welcome: Good to see another mechanical engineer! Do you plan on using tubing and welding or will milling be involved? I'm unsure what the design looks like from your description. Obviously I'll understand once you render the model.