• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

.. I think I made a huge mistake.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

neom

Hi,

I'm a wedding photographer, and recently decided that I wanted to put all my drives into one box rather than having a bunch of boxes sitting around. I bought a HFR2-S3B -- Opened it up, set it to JABOD (Raid 0 Spanning) -- and threw in all my HDDs with my weddings on them... thinking that they would just all show up as a bunch of drives.. well... I turned the box on, it started flashing "rebuilding" for about 5 minutes and then OS X poped up "this disk needs to be initialized"..

I had a small heart attack, pushed ignore, and took the drives out, put them back in each of their external cases, and now none of them will mount...

...I'm sick to my stomach right now, I really hope I've not lost all the data, else It's gonna be a nasty nasty expensive process for me. :bang head:bang head

Any help would be much appreciated.

It sounds like you hosed all the drives. Sorry.

I would have hoped that most people would know by now to take the precaution of backing everything up before doing anything like this--especially if it involves your livelihood.

When you set your array to span, your system reads all the physical drives as a single drive and as such needs to reformat ALL of the drives in order to make that happen. Actually, most RAID controllers insist that you reformat all the drives to their own specifications in order that they perform correctly no matter which RAID type you choose.

I don't know if there is any means to 'un-format' your drives, but you might be able to find some software that is able to pull some of the data off your drives.

BTW: :welcome: to the forums.