• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie to water cooling: Dual loop or Single loop

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

geff33

I am new to water cooling and looking for an advice or suggestion regarding my WC build . I am also new to this forum and hopefully I can gain some good insights regarding this project that I am about to undertake. My goal is to overclock the CPU to 4.0 speed and the 2 SLI'd videocards.

My gaming computer which I recently built:
Case: Corsair 800D
Motherboard: Asus Rampage III extreme
CPU: i7 930
Memory: 6gb of Corsair Dominator DDR3
Video Card: 2 X Evga 480 SC
Power Supply: Corsair HX 1000
Storage: Intel SSD 160 gb for O.S ( Win 7 prof) and black WD 750 gb for data.

My original plan was to build a dual loop: 1 loop cooling the CPU and the NB/SB/mosfets of the mobo and the other loop for the dual video cards. Ea The other plan was to go single loop route: reservoir-> pump-> pump->radiator1-> cpu->NB/SB/mosfet block->radiator2-> GPU1 ->GPU2 ->reservoir. Which would be the more efficient loop?

I read somewhere ( forgot where it was) that a single loop can be equal or even more effective than a dual loop. Now I am confuse. Anyway here are the parts I have for the WC project:

2 X XSPC 360 Radiator ( one will be mounted at the rear of the case the other one on top)
2 X DDC 3.25 pumps each will have an EK single top
2 X Danger Den full cover Nvidia 480 copper water blocks for the GPU
1 X EK waterblock EK Supreme full nickel HF
1 X XSPC dual reservoir
1 X EK EK-FB RE3 - Asus Rampage III Extreme - Nickel/Acetal
Syche Gentle typoon 1800 RPM fans for the Radiators
1/2 ID X 3/4 OD compression fittings
Tygon R3603 tubing (1/2 X 3/4)
Distilled water and Petra'sTech PT_Nuke -PHN

TIA.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=253337