• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

955 Can't Go Higher than 16X

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

vixiv

Need some help OC-ing my 955, guys. I tried using Overdrive 1st since I'm new to this and seems simpler. The slider for changing the Core Multiplier tops out at 16X on Overdrive. When I had seen screenshots made by other people and even on the AMD blog, the range looks much wider. On the AMD blog the slider is set to 18X and is only 1/3 of the way across! I then tried going through the BIOS to increase the Core Multiplier and voltage. It still shows as 16X on CPU-Z. What am I doing wrong or not doing at all?

:welcome: to the forums!

Well.. to be blunt, what you're doing wrong is trying to OC via software. Don't let the BIOS scare you.. it is in fact much easier than most people realize to OC in teh BIOS.. and it's what everyone on this site recommends doing if you have a BIOS that allows you to.

First off, would you kindly create a full system spec sig? It helps us to know all the hardware you're running and trying to OC.

Second, download a few programs to help you monitor temps and stabilize your system. These programs would be CPUz, HWmonitor or RealTemp, and either Prime95 or OCCT. I use HWmonitor and Prime95 myself. HWmonitor will show you lots of information, like voltages, CPU and Mobo temps, and most importantly it will display your 'Core' temps. This is the most important thing to keep an eye on and when running an OC on any CPU. And with the Phenom II try not to let it go past 55-56*C as this has been determined to be the temperature ceiling for these chips.