• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

least expensive way to expand my system

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

smoth

I am currently running the system in my signature, but have run into the physical limit of cramming hardware into my case. With a second graphics card to run 2 additional displays I will use my last expansion slot. I have already filled all of the 3.5" bays and 5.25" bays.

I primarily use the system for photo editing with file sizes often between 250-500MB open in several Adobe applications. As a college student, I also use the system as an HTPC, and for my school work, internet, etc. It is very rare that have fewer than 10-20 applications running. I also keep my photos, documents, artwork, and music collection backed up on this machine.

However I am hitting serious bottlenecks in my storage system which is why I have not even bothered to overclock my cpu. I am out of storage space and want to add some SSDs to speed things up.

Ideally, I would like to start building myself a server rack with separate machines for backup, HTPC, and photo editing, but as a college student that is just not feasible financially at the moment.

I would like to add 2 SSDs in RAID 0, 2 2TB HDDs. Then I would like to convert my 2 1TB drives into a RAID0 array and use the 4 2TB drives in a software raid solution for backup and music and movie storage. BTW, I only have 1 SATA port left.

How would you recommend doing this with spending the least amount of money?

Thanks

Backing up to a RAID 0 is just a bad idea to begin with. There is no redundancy.

Depending on how much space you need and how much you need the data to survive will change the options. In addition to that, how much you want to get into RAID. I'm also assuming this is for Windows, since you mention Adobe products.