• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Picking SSD for boot drive

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zombie01

Registered
Hi all,

I'm new to the SSD scene and have done some reading regarding the drives and how almost everybody uses them solely for boot drives or for retrieving information at a rapid speed.

I think I want to take a dive into purchasing a SSD for strictly a boot drive as I don't do much on my desktop outside of gaming. Would this even be a noticable upgrade or help me in any way?

I was thinking of just getting something around the 40 - 60 GB range as their prices are fairly reasonable, but that's about where my knowledge of the drives stops.

Could you guys shed some of your insight onto the picture and just throw our your ideas or opinions for what I'm wanting to do?

Thanks!

Also, I have tried a google search on this but would I be able to do an OS transfer from my original HDD to the SSD? Would I be able to do a clean install with just the Win 7 full upgrade disk :D

I haven't kept up with the SSD scene lately, so I'll pass on a conclusive recommendation.

You don't want to be attempting an OS transfer. Just save your important files, bookmarks etc. and do a clean install. I believe you can do a clean install with a Win7 upgrade disk (= you don't have to 'upgrade'). Not 100% sure.

Why would you have an upgrade disc? Windows 'upgrades' have always resulted in a partially broken OS and reinstallation is a pain.

TBH I'm not sure. I bought the it a while back using the student discount and I'm not sure wtf I was doing but now I have a disc that I labeled "Win 7 upgrade" with a cd key. I also have the actual disc that was sent in the mail and I believe it is an upgrade one as well.

I think I was just cheap back then.