• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OCing an unlocked X3 425?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

OC'd Carrot

Registered
Hello there,
I'm quite new to all this but last week I managed to unlock my 4th core and L3 Cache. I ran Prime95 and after about 45mins I got an error. I was told it could be one of my RAM sticks. I took out the offending RAM and ran Prime95 again and passed (20hours).

I have been putting off overclocking my CPU until my new CPU cooler (Zalman Performa) arrived and since it arrived yesterday I am now looking to OC my CPU. The only thing I have tried has been to see how much I can increase the FSB (not touching anything else) before my PC won't load (the answer being 240, up from 200)

I was hoping I could get some info on how to go about this, I've done plenty of reading and have got hold of some of the programs needed (eg. CPU-Z. HWMonitor, P95) but much of it, like how to setup voltages and the implications of FSB on RAM etc., goes over my head.

Here are my specs:

Motherboard: ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
CPU: AMD Athlon II X3 425 (unlocked to Phenom II X4 B25)
CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS10X Performa
GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD6870 Vapor-X
RAM: 8 GB (2x4gb) Patriot 1333EL Series DDR3 PC3-10700
PSU: 750W CIT ATX

And here are some CPU-Z shots:
1zq7sxx.jpg
xcn1xw.jpg
9uoe85.jpg

I'd really appreciate some help if possible.

Thanks

Last edited:
So the general approach is this: Always have HWMonitor open to monitor core temps as you stress the CPU with Prime95 blend after making incremental changes to the CPU fequency and the CPU voltage. There's a little more to it than that but that's the basics.