Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Wrong screen resolution Win Xp home

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-07-11, 06:45 AM Thread Starter   #1
PeterPwned
Member

 
PeterPwned's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Berlin, Germany

 
Wrong screen resolution Win Xp home


Hi,

a couple of days ago my Asus EEE-PC 1000H netbook would boot with a resolution of 1024x768 instead of the native 1024x600 pixels. Effectively that means I have to drag the cursor to the top of the screen in order to see the remaining pixels. This is annoying. Everytime I change the resolution back to 1024x600 upon restart the settings automatically revert. If you have any clue as to why that happens please let me know.

Cheers,
Mark

__________________
Trying is doing. Be it your system or anything else, changes are never entirely reversible and therefore all the more intriguing.
PeterPwned is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-11, 07:08 AM   #2
medo145
Member

 
medo145's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA

 
Have you changed video drivers recently?

__________________
|ASUS P8Z68 DELUXE/GEN3|i72600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz(100x45)|EVGA GTX670 FTW+ 4GB @ 1006/6008|
|4x4GB G.Skill DDR3 1600 PC2 12800|LianLi(PC-A70B)|Corsair HX750|ASUS Xonar Essence STX|
|Samsung 840 Pro 256GB (OS)|3x1TB (WD Black) 0+5 Intel Matrix Raid|

|Asrock Z97E-ITX/ac|i54670K 3.4GHz @ Stock(...x..)|Corsair H60|
|2x4GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 PC2 12800|Corsair(250D)|Corsair CX600M|
|Samsung 840 Evo 250GB (OS)|3TB (Seagate)|
medo145 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-08-11, 05:47 AM Thread Starter   #3
PeterPwned
Member

 
PeterPwned's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Berlin, Germany

 
Yeah I have. The intel GMA 950 drivers that came on the disk were outdated and flash videos would not run fluently. Strangely though the screen resolution bug did not show itself until 5 days after updating drivers, so I took that off my list of possible causes.

__________________
Trying is doing. Be it your system or anything else, changes are never entirely reversible and therefore all the more intriguing.
PeterPwned is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-09-11, 06:19 PM   #4
TollhouseFrank
Senior Headphone Guru

 
TollhouseFrank's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T3h Intr@tub3z!

 
reinstall the driver. if still messing up, then hit with hammer. if still not working, chucking it off the expressway helps....

But seriously, reinstall the driver just in case there was something strange happened to it.

TollhouseFrank is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-11, 04:52 AM Thread Starter   #5
PeterPwned
Member

 
PeterPwned's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Berlin, Germany

 
Wow that actually worked, surprisingly. Lets hope they don't go bad again. The error occurred only days after the last driver installation. Thanks.

__________________
Trying is doing. Be it your system or anything else, changes are never entirely reversible and therefore all the more intriguing.
PeterPwned is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?