• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Summer PC Build (First Time Building Computer)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DungeonOgre

Registered
[Solved] Summer PC Build (First Time Building Computer)

Attempted Price Area (w/ Warranties, S&H): $2000 - $2500

Hi All -

Hope this isn't in the wrong spot. I just wanted to see what the Overclockers forum thought of my current build. This is by no means my final build, and is a constant work in progress. I plan to do at least a month of research and get a lot of input before actually buying the components. I should also add that I'm a newbie, and this is my first build.

Included with the components are comments. This PC is intended to be a high-end gaming rig that will allow me to not only upgrade in the future, but will allow the possibility for future SLI, Overclocking, and even different methods of cooling (such as water cooling - but not for a while).

http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=16433605

Last edited:
Might I ask where you are getting your prices?

These are S&H and warranty added prices. Would you prefer the original prices?

I got these off of Google Shopping. I also have the New Egg prices if necessary.

Last edited:
Intel 2500K, a different PSU (you don't need 1000w, far from it), and a different hard drive (why the SV35? that's for video surveillance use) are some first steps I would take to change your system.

1st off, different brand PSU. Most everyone on the site will recommend Corsair or Seasonic. Even if you SLI/Crossfire 2 cards, you shouldn't need more than 850W.