Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Where can I buy a *LEGAL* copy of Windows XP 32-bit?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-12, 04:38 PM Thread Starter   #1
MarkS
Member

 
MarkS's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX

 
Question Where can I buy a *LEGAL* copy of Windows XP 32-bit?


My mother has an old Dell that suits her purposes, but her copy of Windows (XP Pro) is starting to have issues. After sitting for an hour or two, things start to screw up. The speed reduces, the interface doesn't draw or respond correct, etc. I would just reinstall Windows, but she doesn't have the disks.

NewEgg only lists Windows 7, which I understand since Microsoft stated they will no longer offer XP, but there has to be a way. I don't want to touch eBay as I am not certain of what I will get. I definitely want a legal copy!

Any ideas?
MarkS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-12, 04:47 PM   #2
stompah
Senior Member

 
stompah's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Renton, WA

10 Year Badge
 
http://support.dell.com/support/topi...dhs&redirect=1Scroll down to the bottom and fill the form out. Not 100% sure if they will do it for XP but its worth a try.

__________________
HEATWARE

I live ONE mile away from Fry's. Are you jealous?
stompah is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-12, 04:53 PM Thread Starter   #3
MarkS
Member

 
MarkS's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX

 
Thanks for the link. I filled it out, but I would still like a purchase location should that fail.
MarkS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-12, 04:57 PM   #4
stompah
Senior Member

 
stompah's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Renton, WA

10 Year Badge
 
cant help you there. I haven't paid for an OS since I bought 2000. Lucky to know few MS employees.

Have you tried a registry repair program? See if that cleans up her issues.

__________________
HEATWARE

I live ONE mile away from Fry's. Are you jealous?
stompah is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-12, 05:23 PM Thread Starter   #5
MarkS
Member

 
MarkS's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by stompah View Post
Have you tried a registry repair program? See if that cleans up her issues.
Yes I have and no it doesn't.
MarkS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-12, 05:33 PM   #6
\dev\goat
man /dev/goat

 
\dev\goat's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Carolina

10 Year Badge
 
you don't really need to purchase another copy, as you've already purchased an authentication key. not much sense in buying another key. The key is labeled plainly on all dell computers on a sticker on the side panel.

You can use any XP pro cd in the world to install it, using the key you've purchased already. I would think about that before you go buy another one. Beg, borrow, etc.

__________________
Watercooled (build log)
i7-2600k 5ghz 1.5v -- 2x MSI GTX570 SLI
8gb Samsung LV -- Silverstone Raven RV02
128gb Crucial m4 -- 240gb mushkin chronos -- 60gb mushkin chronos -- 8tb server
Corsair TX850 -- Dell u2711 2560x1440
\dev\goat is online now Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-12, 05:44 PM   #7
SteveLord
Member

 
SteveLord's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Iowa

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by \dev\goat View Post
you don't really need to purchase another copy, as you've already purchased an authentication key. not much sense in buying another key. The key is labeled plainly on all dell computers on a sticker on the side panel.

You can use any XP pro cd in the world to install it, using the key you've purchased already. I would think about that before you go buy another one. Beg, borrow, etc.
This is pretty much what I was going to suggest as well.

__________________
"There are two kinds of pain. The sort of pain that makes you strong,
or useless pain. The sort of pain that's only suffering. I have no
patience for useless things."

__________________
SteveLord is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-12, 05:49 PM   #8
Realee
loss.jpg
Premium Member #25

 
Realee's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by \dev\goat View Post
you don't really need to purchase another copy, as you've already purchased an authentication key. not much sense in buying another key. The key is labeled plainly on all dell computers on a sticker on the side panel.

You can use any XP pro cd in the world to install it, using the key you've purchased already. I would think about that before you go buy another one. Beg, borrow, etc.
Not quite - XP was the final era of the crappy version-ed CD/DVD's.
You'll need a Windows XP OEM Disc for that one. (VISTA and beyond provides all on one disc and use ei.cfg to determine which version to install)

__________________
I.M.O.G. Because Australia. ;)
Realee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-12, 06:07 PM   #9
CarlJohnson
Member



Join Date: Jan 2007

 
We do not support piracy here.
-mbentley

__________________
Main rig: FX-8320, Gigabyte GA-FX990-UD3, 8GB G.Skill Ares 1866, Diamond 5850 1GB, SeaSonic M12II 520W, Crucial M4 64GB, WD 500GB Blue, Win 7 64bit

Rig #2: Q6600, ASUS P5Q PRO, 4GB G.Skill 1066, Diamond 5850 1GB, Gigabyte 7970Ghz 3GB, Seagate 250GB, Corsair TX750, Win 7 64bit, mining 24/7

Rig #3: Q6600, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R, 4GB G.Skill 800, Sapphire 6670, Samsung 840 EVO 120GB, Corsair CX430, Win 7 32bit

HTPC: Athlon II 240, ASUS M4A785-M, G.Skill 4GB 800, Antec Black Fusion, Hauppage 1250, Samsung F3 1 TB, Antec Earthwatts 430, LG BD-ROM/DVD-RW, Win 7 32bit
My Heatware
Donate to my Litecoin!! LebLhFCLrkdr8t7ZqFrhHUh1YrKhP85ZQw

Last edited by mbentley; 01-30-12 at 06:52 PM.
CarlJohnson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-12, 06:30 PM   #10
\dev\goat
man /dev/goat

 
\dev\goat's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Carolina

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
This is a dell xp professional iso slipstreamed with sp3. It can be used to install windows on dell machines with the oem sticker and activate without problems.
type your authentication key in off of your sticker and vrooooom

__________________
Watercooled (build log)
i7-2600k 5ghz 1.5v -- 2x MSI GTX570 SLI
8gb Samsung LV -- Silverstone Raven RV02
128gb Crucial m4 -- 240gb mushkin chronos -- 60gb mushkin chronos -- 8tb server
Corsair TX850 -- Dell u2711 2560x1440
\dev\goat is online now Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-31-12, 11:25 AM   #11
CarlJohnson
Member



Join Date: Jan 2007

 
Mods, sorry for my previous post, I wasn't trying to support piracy

__________________
Main rig: FX-8320, Gigabyte GA-FX990-UD3, 8GB G.Skill Ares 1866, Diamond 5850 1GB, SeaSonic M12II 520W, Crucial M4 64GB, WD 500GB Blue, Win 7 64bit

Rig #2: Q6600, ASUS P5Q PRO, 4GB G.Skill 1066, Diamond 5850 1GB, Gigabyte 7970Ghz 3GB, Seagate 250GB, Corsair TX750, Win 7 64bit, mining 24/7

Rig #3: Q6600, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R, 4GB G.Skill 800, Sapphire 6670, Samsung 840 EVO 120GB, Corsair CX430, Win 7 32bit

HTPC: Athlon II 240, ASUS M4A785-M, G.Skill 4GB 800, Antec Black Fusion, Hauppage 1250, Samsung F3 1 TB, Antec Earthwatts 430, LG BD-ROM/DVD-RW, Win 7 32bit
My Heatware
Donate to my Litecoin!! LebLhFCLrkdr8t7ZqFrhHUh1YrKhP85ZQw
CarlJohnson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-31-12, 11:42 AM Thread Starter   #12
MarkS
Member

 
MarkS's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX

 
I was thinking and it may not be Windows. The computer has 512 MB RAM and integrated graphics. I am going to be upgrading both in the coming weeks, so I may see a difference. I'm going to bump the RAM to 4GB and add an AGP graphics card.

stompah, I got an email from Dell almost immediately. They can't supply the disks for free since the warranty expired in 2007, but it will only cost me $11 + shipping. Hmmm....
MarkS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-31-12, 02:03 PM   #13
stompah
Senior Member

 
stompah's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Renton, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Thats the way to go! I doubt you will be able to find a copy of XP for so cheap. Plus it will be 100% legit.

Start searching the classifieds for that RAM & video card. Also check out Frys, they will have a great deal on an AGP video card after rebate about once a month.

__________________
HEATWARE

I live ONE mile away from Fry's. Are you jealous?
stompah is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-31-12, 03:10 PM   #14
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by \dev\goat View Post
you don't really need to purchase another copy, as you've already purchased an authentication key. not much sense in buying another key. The key is labeled plainly on all dell computers on a sticker on the side panel.

You can use any XP pro cd in the world to install it, using the key you've purchased already. I would think about that before you go buy another one. Beg, borrow, etc.
XP Pro OEM , retail wont work.

no point in 4G of ram if using XP and 32bit, 2G would probably be fine since DDR2 ram is more expensive now.

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-31-12, 03:26 PM Thread Starter   #15
MarkS
Member

 
MarkS's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Guvernment View Post
no point in 4G of ram if using XP and 32bit, 2G would probably be fine since DDR2 ram is more expensive now.
It's DDR! Still, I think you're correct.
MarkS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 09:45 AM   #16
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
doh! ya, For Sale forums may get lucky.

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 11:21 AM Thread Starter   #17
MarkS
Member

 
MarkS's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX

 
Yeah, I looked in the For Sale forums and found what I needed for less than $50. Now I just need the money...
MarkS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 12:22 PM   #18
txus.palacios
Premium Member #18

 
txus.palacios's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cdiz (Spain)

 
You already have the license.

Can't find anyone with a WinXP ISO or a CD?

__________________
Maximus V Gene | i5-2500k @ 4.5GHz (ekHF) | 16GiB | GTX470 SLI @ 800MHz (ekFC) | m4 128GB | Arch + Win8
[ more info... ]


The only sound I want to hear out of my computer (unless I'm gaming or watching a movie) is the hum of my 6000 rpm fan pushing air through my heatsink. - Seebs
If I turn up dead, somebody make sure they put "should have just benched in the cold" on my tombstone, along with my most recent superpi32m score. - I.M.O.G.
I didn't go water-cooling for an air-cooling Vcore!! - bluezero5
I'll rm -rf /yourface/* - thideras
txus.palacios is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 12:43 PM   #19
Supertrucker
Way Too Jealous Member

 
Supertrucker's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southern California

10 Year Badge
 
It is possible with windows xp to make an install disk from an already installed OS. I i wanted an xp home disk for my laptop because it came with a bloatware filled restore cd and i successfully made a usable, bootable xp home cd out of the i386 folder on my laptop.

http://www.howtohaven.com/system/cre...etupdisk.shtml

Is how i did it. FWIW my i386 folder was not exactly as he described, and according to that article it shouldnt have worked, but it did, mabye it will for you as well.

__________________
4670k @ 4.5 w/ apogee HD Asrock Extreme 6
Crossfire R9 290 @ 1100/1300 EK fc blocks
Yamasaki Catleap 2560x1440 IPS w/120hz pcb
DT770pros(modmic) w/ Sound Blaster Z
Swiftech mcp 35x 120.4 Swiftech XP w/GT ap-14s
Supertrucker is online now Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-12, 01:20 PM Thread Starter   #20
MarkS
Member

 
MarkS's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by txus.palacios View Post
You already have the license.

Can't find anyone with a WinXP ISO or a CD?
Someone else suggested this and their post was edited, so I'm not too sure how I should answer...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supertrucker View Post
It is possible with windows xp to make an install disk from an already installed OS. I i wanted an xp home disk for my laptop because it came with a bloatware filled restore cd and i successfully made a usable, bootable xp home cd out of the i386 folder on my laptop.

http://www.howtohaven.com/system/cre...etupdisk.shtml

Is how i did it. FWIW my i386 folder was not exactly as he described, and according to that article it shouldnt have worked, but it did, mabye it will for you as well.
That would be nice, except for two things... No i386 folder and the CD drive is read only. I seriously forgot about computers with such limitations.
MarkS is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?