Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Ivy Bridge (3770K & 3570K) Results and Discussion thread

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-30-12, 08:59 AM Thread Starter   #21
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
About to pull my hair out with this darn Asrock Fata1ty board, cant get past 4.5 Ghz with the 3570K, tried 3 sets of RAM, went to 1.35v core, gets all sorts of LED error codes, mainly 9A

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 09:05 AM   #22
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
BobN wasnt able to get you the bios we have yet? Let me see if our team can reach out and get another bios file sent via email that I can move to you...

Mine will arrive tomorrow so testing will be done in the coming days.

Would be great if the batch numbers were listed in the first post as well.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 09:15 AM Thread Starter   #23
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
Thanks Joe, very much appreciate it, I have issues now that the USB ports fail

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 09:32 AM   #24
Don Karnage
Member

 
Don Karnage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brolloks View Post
About to pull my hair out with this darn Asrock Fata1ty board, cant get past 4.5 Ghz with the 3570K, tried 3 sets of RAM, went to 1.35v core, gets all sorts of LED error codes, mainly 9A
I looked at that board then saw there were only 2 bios updates for it when the MVG had 10. Made the choice easy
Don Karnage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 09:39 AM   #25
dejo
Senior Moment Senior Member

 
dejo's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tyler, Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Ed, my asrock ext6 will only run 5.2 with rams at cl7 but will do 5.5 with rams at cl9. think there is something freaky with the board

__________________
if it screams, crank it. if it cries, kill it

Asrock z77 ex6
2600k @4.8ghz
Samsung 2x4gb rams
OCZ Vertex4 256gb ssd
EVGA GTX480
Sparkle 1250 gold PSU
Arc Midi case
dejo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 09:40 AM   #26
situman
Member



Join Date: Sep 2003

 
So is the difference betwwn 35xx and 37xx only in the L3 cache? Like a smaller L3 cache for the 3570 series?

__________________
Asus Rampage Formula X48
Intel Q9650 @ 4.33GHZ
OCZ Platinum DDR2-800
Palit 4870x2
Creative Xi-Fi Extreme Music
Corsair HX1000
LL 343B Case
Thermochill 120.3
2xMCP355
KL 350AT
KL 4870X2 FC WB
DD Chipset Block
situman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 09:41 AM   #27
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Karnage View Post
I looked at that board then saw there were only 2 bios updates for it when the MVG had 10. Made the choice easy
Asrock has one BIOS while the MVG has 2.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 10:09 AM Thread Starter   #28
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dejo View Post
Ed, my asrock ext6 will only run 5.2 with rams at cl7 but will do 5.5 with rams at cl9. think there is something freaky with the board
I tried 3 different sets of RAM (Geil, G.Skill and Team Exteme) ran them all around 1866, PCH HS gets piping hot, USB ports keep on getting disabled in Bios so I cant do much atm, getting a MIVE tomorrow so will so how it compares. Had similar issues with a 2600k last week so I think board is maybe broken,

Thanks for the suggestion though

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 10:20 AM   #29
TURN & BURN
Member

 
TURN & BURN's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Florida

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by PolRoger View Post
@ "T&B"

Your 3770K sample looks pretty good.

My 3570K chip seems to only do 45x with similar vcore (load) settings.



"Unclewebb" may need to tweak a new revision of RealTemp for IB?? I've now noticed that RealTemp seems to be reporting lower temps than Core Temp. I've always found them to be quite similar when reporting temps for SB gen. cpus.

WCG load ~ 6 hrs:
Also update your CPUZ as it now reads the revision
http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html

T&B

__________________
Gig Z77A-UD5H / MSI Z77A- GD65
G1 Sniper / X79-UD3 / X79A MSI 65 (8D)
Asus R4 Formula
3930/2x 3820 / 2700k / 5x 3770K IB
2x 7970 LT MSI - 2X 7970 OC Gigabytes
1x LT 680
4X120 SSD OCZ 22NM
Team Extreme 2400MHz & 2600Mhz
1200w Corsair AX + Corsair 1050w + XFX 1250w
DVD/BR/RW[/COLOR]
LN2 - Cooler Express Chiller

Last edited by TURN & BURN; 04-30-12 at 10:53 AM.
TURN & BURN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 10:24 AM   #30
Don Karnage
Member

 
Don Karnage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post


http://hwbot.org/forum/showthread.php?t=42040

I was off. MVG has 12 bios releases.

__________________
Core I5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Asus Z77 Maximus V
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 2800 10-11-11-31 1.60v
MCW82 WaterCooled Vanilla EVGA GTX 670
Intel 320 120GB SSD
Corsair AX1200
Venom X
Don Karnage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 10:26 AM   #31
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Sorry, I was looking at RELEASE bios's as you can cleary tell by the links provided.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 10:27 AM   #32
Don Karnage
Member

 
Don Karnage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
Sorry, I was looking at RELEASE bios's as you can cleary tell by the links provided.


I know what you meant but i've always used hwbot for the latest bios.

__________________
Core I5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Asus Z77 Maximus V
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 2800 10-11-11-31 1.60v
MCW82 WaterCooled Vanilla EVGA GTX 670
Intel 320 120GB SSD
Corsair AX1200
Venom X
Don Karnage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 10:28 AM   #33
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
I will share subzero results tonight, and I'll be streaming.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 10:35 AM   #34
'Cuda340
Very Welcoming Senior
Premium Member #11


 
'Cuda340's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Folding@Home

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by I.M.O.G. View Post
I will share subzero results tonight, and I'll be streaming.

__________________
Folding for Overclockers.com Team 32 as ---------->
Folding User Stats
Intro/Walkthrough of Folding & Folding@Home
'Cuda340 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 10:38 AM   #35
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule

 
Eldonko's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta

 
4.8Ghz, average load temp after 1 hour of load = 84C. Can probably do 4.9 but temps too high for my liking.


__________________
Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
Team OCX Bench Team
Always lurking the motherboard section
Eldonko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 10:42 AM   #36
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule

 
Eldonko's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta

 
Curious to see where your chips max out at 1.1v?

__________________
Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
Team OCX Bench Team
Always lurking the motherboard section
Eldonko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 10:43 AM   #37
Don Karnage
Member

 
Don Karnage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
4.8Ghz, average load temp after 1 hour of load = 84C. Can probably do 4.9 but temps too high for my liking.

Eld,

Are the chips responding more with a 2.0 pll compared to 1.8v?

__________________
Core I5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Asus Z77 Maximus V
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 2800 10-11-11-31 1.60v
MCW82 WaterCooled Vanilla EVGA GTX 670
Intel 320 120GB SSD
Corsair AX1200
Venom X
Don Karnage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 10:44 AM   #38
dejo
Senior Moment Senior Member

 
dejo's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tyler, Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by I.M.O.G. View Post
I will share subzero results tonight, and I'll be streaming.
make sure you let us know when

__________________
if it screams, crank it. if it cries, kill it

Asrock z77 ex6
2600k @4.8ghz
Samsung 2x4gb rams
OCZ Vertex4 256gb ssd
EVGA GTX480
Sparkle 1250 gold PSU
Arc Midi case
dejo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 10:54 AM   #39
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule

 
Eldonko's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta

 
I only know this 1 chip I have but asus said that each chip is different for optimal PLL.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Karnage View Post
Eld,

Are the chips responding more with a 2.0 pll compared to 1.8v?

__________________
Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
Team OCX Bench Team
Always lurking the motherboard section
Eldonko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-12, 10:59 AM   #40
TURN & BURN
Member

 
TURN & BURN's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Florida

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
I only know this 1 chip I have but asus said that each chip is different for optimal PLL.
I have 2 chips and havent found the PPL to make any difference however I did get a bump raising the VTT to 1.20 for what its worth on the Gigabyte boards.

__________________
Gig Z77A-UD5H / MSI Z77A- GD65
G1 Sniper / X79-UD3 / X79A MSI 65 (8D)
Asus R4 Formula
3930/2x 3820 / 2700k / 5x 3770K IB
2x 7970 LT MSI - 2X 7970 OC Gigabytes
1x LT 680
4X120 SSD OCZ 22NM
Team Extreme 2400MHz & 2600Mhz
1200w Corsair AX + Corsair 1050w + XFX 1250w
DVD/BR/RW[/COLOR]
LN2 - Cooler Express Chiller
TURN & BURN is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?