• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How far can I overclock an i5 2500k without changing the voltage?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Northwoods

Registered
I'm just looking for a mild overclock and wondering if it's possible to overclock without touching the voltage. I have a GIGABYTE GA-P67X-UD3-B3. I'm new to overclocking and concerned about moving my voltage ie, if I move the voltage would I be able to set it back to defaults?

And while I'm at it Anybody have any recommendations on good heatsink in a price range of $50-$100?

Yes, you can overclock without touching the Vcore / Vcc, probably to around 4.0GHz or so at ~1.20V w/ Turbo Boost. And yes, the Vcore / Vcc can be set back to the default voltage. As far as HSFs, there are a number of good ones in that price range, but you'll need to do some research because of possible space restrictions w/ your case and RAM modules.

Last edited:
Yes, you can overclock without touching the Vcore / Vcc, probably to around 4.0GHz or so at ~1.20V w/ Turbo Boost. And yes, the Vcore / Vcc can be set back to the default voltage. As far as HSFs, there are a number of good ones in that price range, but you'll need to do some research because of possible space restrictions w/ your case and RAM modules.

Yeah listen to the part about turbo. Many have called it a "Gimmick" but using it to give you a boost over your OC is all good.

What Im saying is once you get to the higher overclocks up in the 4.7, 4.8 range, turbo wont help. If you can turbo to those, usually you can run all 4 cores at that no problem. It would only be beneficial if you are looking to save that slight bit of power.