• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

q8200 overclock to 2.6

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kim34

Hello,

I'm new to overclocking and searched around forums for guides to overclock a q8200. I'm still not succesfull as i am not sure what to change in the bios to get it to run at 2.6 ghz.
My motherboard is a p5ql pro and the processor is a q8200 (2.33 ghz). Can someone explain to me what to change in the bios? From what i know at this moment is that i have to change the voltage and the fsb speed.
Any help would be appreciated.

turn up the fsb to ~370 if it crashes up the vcore by .02 and keep going up by .02 until it stops crashing or you hit the 70c area should be able to do that on stock voltage though

that should be 2.590ghz

run prime95 and watch temps in hwmonitor or coretemp make sure it doesnt go over 70ish if it does you need a new cooler

heres a guide for a bit higher oc if your cooling can handle it

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/overclock-phenom-pentium,2366-12.html

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/overclock-phenom-pentium,2366-13.html

Thanks for the reply.
I changed the fsb to 360 at first and changed the vcore to its max which was 1.5000.
The temperatures went up to 100 degrees on some cores. Average on the 4 cores was about 85 - 90 celcius.
I quickly rebooted and changed it back to normal. The standard core voltage was around 1.500 to 1.600, it fluctuated between these numbers in the bios. Thats why i changed it to something higher but came to the conlcusion it was already at its max.
But when i checked the vcore in speedfan it says it's 1.12v.

Should i try and overclock it again with the settings at 360-370 fsb with a vore voltage of 1.14 - 1.16 or will i perhaps fry it forgood this time?
:chair: