Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Duron v Tbird...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-02, 07:48 PM Thread Starter   #1
eh?
Member

 
eh?'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Elkhart, Indiana

10 Year Badge
 
Duron v Tbird...


I am building the woman a new computer, and have to keep cost as low as possible, now my question is will there be a big differnce between a tbird and a duron? she uses it for games, and mp3s and school work...

__________________
Back and trolling six-fold.
eh? is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-02, 07:52 PM   #2
Mr. $T$
Member

 
Mr. $T$'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Mp3s and homework do not Challenge todays computers so the real question is what kinda of games is she goin run?
Mr. $T$ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-02, 07:52 PM   #3
gtsimmo
Member

 
gtsimmo's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA

 
T birds eats alot of voltage and tends to run hot. A duron 1 to 1.3 Ghz is a really great deal at about 50 to 70 dollars for a retail box. In my opinion they are a better deal. They overclock decent too.
gtsimmo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-02, 07:56 PM Thread Starter   #4
eh?
Member

 
eh?'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Elkhart, Indiana

10 Year Badge
 
she doesn't runa lot of games mainly just the Sims... she is upgrading from a pIII 1 gig....

__________________
Back and trolling six-fold.
eh? is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-02, 08:03 PM   #5
gtsimmo
Member

 
gtsimmo's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA

 
I dont see why she would need any upgrade at all, a 1 gz P3 should be able to handle anything she needs it to. Maybe you should convince her to upgrade to a larger hard drive, for the MP3, or more ram is always better. Or if she using 56K she should spend it on a DSL or cable line, that would make downloading MP3's alot faster. Oh, you have one COOL system
gtsimmo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-02, 08:05 PM   #6
Mr. $T$
Member

 
Mr. $T$'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Then a 1.2 morgan will do nicely along with a geforce 2 and 256 DDR
Mr. $T$ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-02, 08:07 PM Thread Starter   #7
eh?
Member

 
eh?'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Elkhart, Indiana

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by gtsimmo
I dont see why she would need any upgrade at all, a 1 gz P3 should be able to handle anything she needs it to. Maybe you should convince her to upgrade to a larger hard drive, for the MP3, or more ram is always better. Or if she using 56K she should spend it on a DSL or cable line, that would make downloading MP3's alot faster. Oh, you have one COOL system
thanks! she needs an upgrade because the board has a maxium of 256mb of ram, no agp, and 1 free pci slot... shes on cable and its about time for an upgrade and her dad is gonna get her old computer..

__________________
Back and trolling six-fold.
eh? is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-02, 08:10 PM   #8
gtsimmo
Member

 
gtsimmo's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA

 
I didn't know such a board even existed that could support a 1ghz P3. Then a Duron with a Geforce 4 MX should do. Get a nice cheap mobo with built in audio, and DDR based on a K266 should do just nice. It doesnt look like your a novice so what was your first idea? A K266 or K333 board will give her some room to upgrade to an Athlon later on

Last edited by gtsimmo; 05-06-02 at 08:24 PM.
gtsimmo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-02, 08:12 PM Thread Starter   #9
eh?
Member

 
eh?'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Elkhart, Indiana

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by gtsimmo
I didn't know such a board even existed that could support a 1ghz P3. Then a Duron with a Geforce 4 MX should do. Get a nice cheap mobo with built in audio, and DDR based on a K266 should do just nice. It doesnt look like your a novice so what was your first idea?
well orgnially i built an xp1600 with ecs board, 24x10x40 cdrw, 512 pc133mb of ram, case and 400 watt psu, GF2 mx400, and a 60 gb hd...the total was 418... but then i seen that the 1 ghz duron were like 40... so it made me rethink and since i never owned a duron but know they are slower i was wondering if there was a big performance hit, what do you think

__________________
Back and trolling six-fold.
eh? is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-02, 08:25 PM   #10
gtsimmo
Member

 
gtsimmo's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA

 
I'm pretty proud of my $50 processor, In sandra CPU test, I benched pass the P4 1.4 ghz refernces. I was just a tid bit shy of the xp1600+ Great deal for less then what you pay for some games. And always room to get a Athlon later on, in a week or two Im gonna get a GF4 Ti4600 and see what I do compared to a XP 1600+ and P4 Northwoods
gtsimmo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-02, 02:52 AM   #11
new_novice
Member



Join Date: May 2002
Location: san jose, CA

 
Duron is the way to go, definitely go with Duron....

my $.02

__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
Intel Q9550 @ 3.4 Ghz
4 Gbs Kingston 1066
Saphire 4780 1Gb version
1 Raid 0 for scrap (2)
1 Raid 1 for OS (2)
1 Raid 10 for data (6x)
new_novice is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-02, 07:04 AM   #12
lonewolf1983
Member



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: perth, Australia

 
durons above 1ghz are based on the XP core and are very speedy
my 1.2 is just as fast as my old tbird 1.4 was
and it runs cooler with a much quieter fan
looks the best option for you
lonewolf1983 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-02, 09:29 AM   #13
#18
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002

 
If you want duron, make sure go with 1.3GHZ. Anything lower may even slower than 1GHZ PIII. A PIII 1GHZ is about the same performance as P4 1.5GHZ.
As you said you want something better than PIII 1 GHZ and not expansive, And i think Athlon XP 1800 or 1700 are better deals than duron if you look at the price : performance. Those two are both below $100.
#18 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-02, 10:12 AM   #14
Flamed_Chip
Member

 
Flamed_Chip's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yorkshire, UK

 
If she is using it just for games like the sims, then save yourself money and get a GF 2 MX 400 64MB for about half the price of a GF 4 MX and you'll probably never see the performance diff.

I use a GF 2 MX 400 and it gives me more than playable framerates in any game I ever threw at it.

Just my $0.02

Good luck wioth whatever you choose

__________________
Herb: 2 x Intel PIII-S 1.4 GHz - GIGABYTE GA-6VTXDR - 1024MB PC133 - 2 x Tt Volcano 7+ - PCI nVIDIA GeForce fx5500 128MB - 60GB Samsung 7200RPM - 200GB Seagate Barracuda - 500W PSU - Debian GNU/Linux
Wyatt: XP 1800+ @ 1725 (150x11.5) 1.85 vcore - Asus A7V266-E - 512MB DDR PC2100 - SK6 modded for Delta 80mm "SHE" - nVIDIA GF2 MX 400 64MB DDR - 40GB WD 7200RPM - 20GB WD 7200RPM - Generic 300W PSU - Load Temp: 45*C (Ambiant 22*C) - Debian GNU/Linux
Moon: Intel PIII 1GHz - Generic Intel motherboard - 512MB PC133 - 7GB HDD - Generic PSU - FreeBSD
Kaya (laptop): Sony Vaio PCG-GRT815M - P4 2.8Ghz - 512MB DDR - 80GB 5400RPM - nVIDIA GF FX5600 64MB - Ubuntu GNU/Linux / Windows XP
Flamed_Chip is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-02, 12:39 PM   #15
new_novice
Member



Join Date: May 2002
Location: san jose, CA

 
Quote:
Originally posted by #18
As you said you want something better than PIII 1 GHZ and not expansive, And i think Athlon XP 1800 or 1700 are better deals than duron if you look at the price : performance. Those two are both below $100.



where???

__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
Intel Q9550 @ 3.4 Ghz
4 Gbs Kingston 1066
Saphire 4780 1Gb version
1 Raid 0 for scrap (2)
1 Raid 1 for OS (2)
1 Raid 10 for data (6x)
new_novice is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-02, 01:05 PM   #16
#18
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002

 
Take a look by yourself at

http://www.pricewatch.com


If you go with OEM, there some xp1700 and 1800 below $100. Retail version is another story, but still not much more than an OEM. The cheapest OEM althon XP1900 on pricewatch is only $120, which will be superior compare to Duron 1.3GHZ, and I say its price will be below $100 too within a month. You don't want something outdate soon, do you?

Here is one $94 XP1700
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...ion=19-103-305

And here is a $133 XP1900(i am sure it will be below $100 within a month)
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...ion=19-103-317

Last edited by #18; 05-07-02 at 01:16 PM.
#18 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-02, 01:28 PM Thread Starter   #17
eh?
Member

 
eh?'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Elkhart, Indiana

10 Year Badge
 
you guys are comparing just the chips... she needs a new motherboard to.. an xp1600 with an ecs baord is 120...

__________________
Back and trolling six-fold.
eh? is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-02, 01:29 PM   #18
new_novice
Member



Join Date: May 2002
Location: san jose, CA

 
cool thanks, consider it's a budget machine, why need top of the line??


check this thing out.

DELL OUTRAGOUS MACHINE


edit: well i guess that link didn't show the whole thing, but when I tried to see what would a top the line machine looks like from them propiertory,......cost around 21,000.00 (yes in dollars)

dual 2.4 xeon
24 in. CRT
(not even a top of the line graphic card that you can choose)
4 SCSI hdd 73 gb
4 Gig PC800
UPS

very expensive, I wonder if somebody even thinking about buying that thing....

__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
Intel Q9550 @ 3.4 Ghz
4 Gbs Kingston 1066
Saphire 4780 1Gb version
1 Raid 0 for scrap (2)
1 Raid 1 for OS (2)
1 Raid 10 for data (6x)
new_novice is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-02, 07:16 PM   #19
#18
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by new_novice
cost around 21,000.00 (yes in dollars)

dual 2.4 xeon
24 in. CRT
(not even a top of the line graphic card that you can choose)
4 SCSI hdd 73 gb
4 Gig PC800
UPS

very expensive, I wonder if somebody even thinking about buying that thing....
You are mistaken. What you posted is not a desktop PC. It's for servers. You don't need that for downloading MP3 or gaming.

Right now a top line PC(with AMD's CPU) only cost $600 to$700 without monitor.
Defination of "top line" in my theory is----------every part is within the 4th best.
#18 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-02, 08:15 PM   #20
lonewolf1983
Member



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: perth, Australia

 
you are incorrect about durons below 1.3ghz being inferior to a pIII 1ghz in performance

any duron above 1ghz will easily match and beat a 1ghz p3 in any benchmark,due largely to the more efficient core and better memory bandwidth due to the 200mhz bus
lonewolf1983 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?