• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Toms Hardware Test number on Overclocked 3.0 gig

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

therudyq3

OK...I'm a newbie here....but this article from toms hardware on an OC 2.2 to 3.0 northwood post some Open GL numbers that don't make sense to me. In quake3 it posts around 308.2 fps on an OC 2.2 to 3.0

here:
http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/02q1/020117/p4_3000-04.html#opengl_benchmarks

But recently some other northwood cpu been released and they get wayyyy above 300 fps in quake3 on slower cpu...

like here:

http://www6.tomshardware.com/cpu/02q2/020506/p4b-06.html

a 2.4 Northwood now achieves 303.3 fps ...same as the OC 3.0 cpu...

so whar are we saying here? an OC system just gets faster in cpu cycle but the instruction processes do not get much better? The cpu cycle clocks get faster but the number of instructions don't get much better?

I was gonna purchase a 1.8a northwood and OC it to 2.4 to play quake3. Hoping that I may achieve 300 fps... but..heck can I??

take all benchy info from Tom with a grain of salt. hes known for posting some stupid, biases, and simply not well done benchmarks.

-Malakai

but.....

what does it say here? i overclocked a cpu to 3.0 gig from a 2.2 northwood and gained only 20 fps...when i can get a 2.4 northwood and get the same results?

so if i get a 1.8g northwood and OC it to 2.4......i won't get much more fps???

can some one tell me .........

dude, quake is maxed out. dont use it solely for benching performance.

it is very vid card based too.

-Malakai

He just doesn't know what he's doing. I've got my 2.26 overclocked to 3 Ghz (actually it's 2999.87 Mhz :D ) and this is what I get with a GF4 Ti4600 running at stock speed. A wee bit better than 308.X me thinks...

Quake3_fastest_640_480.jpg