• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Air cooling for future rig

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

xK1LLSW1TCHx127

Registered
Hello guys, first post here. I'm struggling to find a case/heatsink setup that will keep a rig I will soon build (hopefully) nice and cool. The rig i have in mind right now will be either a 2600k or a 3570k on a BIOSTAR TZ77XE3 with 8 gigs of gskill ripjaws and a OCZ Fatal1ty PSU (no graphics yet due to budget, GTX 480 will come around December). This is my first build ever (suggestions for the noob are more than welcome:))
All i have left is a case to choose. Problem is i'm on a bit of a budget and i want to keep the system as cool as possible with something in the range of 100 bucks. Here is what i have come up wit so far, help me choose or make suggestions please and thank you :thup:

NZXT Gamma or M59 midtowers with an extra fan or two and a CM Hyper 212
CM HAF midtower 912 with CM Hyper 212
Antec 300 Illusion midtower with CM Hyper 212
Antec DF-35 stock heatsink
Rosewill challenger with CM Hyper 212\
NZXT Phantom with stock cooler
Rosewill thor v2 with stock cooler
HAF 922 stock cooler

I know the aftermarket heatsinks will keep the cpu cooler, but which setup will keep the entire system cooler? Suggestions are more than welcome =)

Note: I plan on getting a GTX 480 for the system, please help me out with that too if you wouldn't mind =) Thanks Guys!

I would go with the CM Haf midtower with the CM Hyper 212 out of those choices. Whatever you do I would NOT go stock heat sink if you want a cool running rig. That leaves the NZXT, Cool Master, Antec 300, and Rosewill Challenger. I personally like the look of the CM better than the others.

Good luck bud.

First of all, MEH at Biostar motherboards.