• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Am I due for an upgrade?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

LouisOUFC

Hiya, basically I've been thinking about my computer recently wondering Is it time for an upgrade...

I'm into online gaming as well as video and sound editing. Most recently I've bought Guild Wars 2 (Which I cant seem to run very well, unless it's on Low) and this simply isn't good enough. I've got a Dell XPS 630 Running Windows 7 64 Bit the computer is about 3 years old, but at the time it cost me a hell of a lot, so I would be quite gutted If I had to completely scrap it and get a whole new one, plus I simply don't have the money to do that! I'm a student on student money!

Is there anything I can do that's going to give my computer a good boost and let me play Guild Wars 2 with a good FPS on High Graphics.

My specs are as follows:

Dell Inc Dell Inc 0PP150 Motherboard

Intel® Core™ 2 Quad-Core Processor Q9550 (2.83Ghz, 1333MHz FSB, 12MB cache)

4096MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM [4x1024]

Hard Drive 1TB NCQ SATA (2x500GB) 7200Rpm Dual HDD Config Raid 0 Stripe

Single 1GB DDR3 nVidia® GeForce™ GTX285 graphics card

PCI Card Ageia PhysX 128MB

Integrated HDA 7.1 Dolby Digital Audio

I basically want to be able to play the most recent games, on High graphics with a decent frame rate.

I appreciate all your help, thankyou!

Honestly you are almost due for an upgrade but with that being said a gtx 670 or a 660ti would suite your gaming needs just fine. If I were in your shoes I would just upgrade the gpu for now and save your money. In a year or two I would look into upgrading to Ivy bridge after aswell has been released.