• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD 64 bit processor

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mikey7

Registered
About 8 months ago ( the intel 2.53 was the hot item then) I started researching hardware for my new computer. At first, as a total newbie, I was looking for the fastest processor and Ram I could get. It didn't take me long to come to the conclusion that most of you already knew. The system was only going to run as fast as the slowest bottleneck in it. With this new genius insight I embaked on a quest for a system that would eliminate as many of the botttle necks as possible with only a secondary concern over processor speed. What I found was somewhat discouraging. Every board and and chipset I found was lacking in one area or another. In particular I had come to the conclusion that in the relative near future we were going to see the shift toward 64 bit technology. There was no board or chipset that would support this and the other options available on current boards. I was teased laughed at and even treated as if I was a total imbicil for suggesting this. THANK YOU AMD for my validation. The new AMD recently announced will move to 64 bit support. This may finally let me test my thruput theory against the big 3. whatever glugahurts of intel. With this board my final configuration will look like this.

Case Li-an Li 7x modded
AMD 64 bit processor on hopefully an Epox board with 2 64 bit PCI slots. w/
400mgz FSB
8x AGP
PCIX bus
400mgz system bus
Nvda, 3Dlabs or Radeon VPU
creative platinum audio
LSI ultra 320 SCSI controller and Raid card hopefully they will up grade RAM support beyond current PC2100
4 36.9 15000 rpm hard drive array
If it all comes together I cant wait to bench it against the high speed intel. I am beting I will smoke them.