• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD FX8120 O.C'ing Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mak1290

Registered
I am a beginner of O.C ..I am first time O.Cing my cpu ..My system specs r in my signature..Kindly help me O.Cing my p.c to make most out of it ..
I have O.C my FX8120 via Asus AI Suite by Auto Tuning Extreme and it has easily reached to 4ghz.As monitoring via CPU-Z,It goes to 1775mhz when light loads r there and suddenly goes to 4000mhz at loaad..But my Ram is of 1600 mhz whichz running at 850mhz n not goes above it..
So is it fine like i am running or i shud do O.C manually .Kindly tell me step by step plz..

Better OC your cpu in bios, not via software.
Disable all the auto multiplier and any other auto. C6 and any CPU turbo features should also be off.
Also monitor your temperatures via HWMonitor and test CPU stability by prime95.

Kindly tell me beside doing of all auto in bios,what else i have to do..N how do i check its stability via Prime95

It goes to 1775mhz when light loads r there and suddenly goes to 4000mhz at loaad. = This and similar questions just like it must have been answered at least a 1,000 times or more in the forum. Cool N Quiet is running and Windows does not have Power Modes set to performance. So when the cpu is NOT doing any work, it can idle down and save power and NOT run so hot. Not really a bad thing in India where your room temp according to your 3 other threads about the same thing say your room is very hot. 30c in the room.