• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD noob here, looking for basic info/advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

captainthrall

I'm thinking about building my first AMD rig. I've assembled about 10 Intel builds in the past, but I'm a bit out of my element with AMD.

Is it stupid to buy now? I've heard AMD is coming out with a new socket type soon.

What is the current preferred cpu for gaming? I'm looking at the 5600X

Is it a bad idea to pair an AMD cpu with an Nvidia gpu? I'm considering the RTX 3070

Can anyone recommend a solid AM4 socket, PCIe 4 mobo?

Stick to Ryzen 3000 and 5000 series CPUs if you are going AMD. Amd and Nvidia makes an EXCELLENT combo, IMO, that is what I run :)

I'd say any mid to high end B550 or X570 MB is a good bet! I personally have the Asus TUF B550M Plus and I love it. Was $170 this past July.

As far as a NEW socket, I do not know. I do know that they just launched the 5000 series on AM4, and there are still more (lower end) chips to come.

My budget is around $1200, not including peripherals.

I already have an extra M.2, spinner HDD, PCI wifi card, monitor, psu, keyboards, etc etc

So basically I'd just have to buy a mobo, video card, RAM, and CPU

If I get the basic version of the B550 mobo Ben suggested, it's only $115.
32GB of DDR4 3600 is $130
I'm leaning towards an RTX 3070 (if I can find one in stock) which is around $500
That means as long as my CPU is <$500, I should be under budget.

The TUF lineup has slid down the product stack from what it was a couple gens ago. It along with the Prime are decent budget boards though, for sure. With your budget, id go a rung or two higher...maybe an Asus Strix b550-F wifi.. more robust vrms, improved audio codec, better wifi, better looks...