• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Asus M3A32-MVP bios memory timing glitch?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

nicolaid

Registered
Anyone else getting this?

I am running an Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe with BIOS 1202 and am noticing that whatever memory timing you set for tRas, the actual value (as displayed by programs such as memset or cpuz) is 2 points less than what you asked for in bios. For instance if I set 5-5-5-18, the windows programs (and also memtest86+) show it as 5-5-5-16. What gives here, is this a bios glitch, is my tRas really at 16???

Thanks

Got exactly the same board too, and i'm just getting into the memory timings.

I've gone into the bios to change them from auto (5-7-7-24-31) to the recommended 5-5-5-15-30. (533mhz @ 2.2v)

First thing i noticed was the lowest setting for CL, TRCD and TRP is 5, so the recomended setting is as low as it will go - no chance of getting them to 4. When i booted and opened CPU-Z, the tRAS was showing the correct 15 clocks ok, but the tRC was 29, not 30. So i don't know whether you've got a glitch or not. There are SO many settings in the Dram Frequency menu and all of them apart from the above few are on auto.

By the way, thanks for letting me know there was a new bios version 1202 out! ;)
I'm still using 1102 but will update later today.

Looking at the Asus site:

Version 1202 2008/07/22 update

Description 1202 BIOS for M3A32-MVP Deluxe/Wifi-AP
1.Enhance memory compatibility.
2.Down speed from 1066 to 800Mhz if there are two 1066 dimm in one channel.

Question, having 4x 1066mhz sticks in the 4 slots means your running two pairs in dual channel, yes? So there shouldn't be any downspeed in that config, only if you, say, had a ram stick in slot 1 and 2?