• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

best AGP upgrade for BF2?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

timtooAMD

hey everybody, im a major BF2 fan, its practicaly all that i play if i am honest, and my fps vary from around 35 flying to around 15 or so when in combat with about 3 or more ppl on screen at once - which is pretty terrible and makes it pretty hard to get any decent scores.

so im looking for the best upgrade i can get (AGP) that will last me 1.5years, (as then will fini uni, so a job will hopefuly mean = much better gaming rig) im a student so upgrading to top specs is a nono, my plan at the moment is to upgrade my rig (see sig) with a cheap 775 board (Asrock 4corevsta) with a e4300 perform a small o/c and 667, 2gig of ram, and use my current 6800gt agp with that, whilst in a few months when i have some more money (when student loan comes in) + and also when i have sold my old mobo+cpu+and ram on ebay hopefuly get a reasonable agp card, i want to run bf2 at high frame rates with best possible graphics but ive read around and believe, and been told im cpu limited at the moment, and also 6800gt is not the best card to have.

yes i have latest drivers and defrag regulary, my settings are mostley on medium at i think 800*600 res (pos 1024*768) but dont think so, with no other effects on (aa).

or do people think me upgrading just my agp card will get me much better performance? because ive been looking around alot and my cpu is kinder out of date compared to the reviews u get on the net of the lastest cards.

ideas/feedback much appriciated, thanks!

edit: looked at the 7600gt, but would that give me the best results, or do i need something with more juice?