• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best build for under $2000.00 out the door

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

moresnowdays

Newbie here, looking for a great group to help give me some insight and direction on my new project.

I've decided that I need a new rig. I have been working and playing off my Toshiba Satellite laptop for about 8 years now. I mainly use it for Photoshop, Lightroom, Vinyl Graphics software (Flexi-Pro 10), Corel Draw X5. I'm not a big gamer, but maybe this build might change that some. I also use it for Netflix streaming some. Here's what I have in mind...

-i5 2500k or i7 2600k
-ASUS P8Z68-V Pro or deluxe -or- wait for Gen 3 Version
-EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti Superclocked 1024MB
-Western Digital Caviar Black 1 TB SATA III
-Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
-Corsair Professional Series Gold 850-Watt
-Cooler Master HAF 932
-LG Electronics WH12LS30 12X Blu-ray SATA
-BenQ EW2420 24-Inch Monitor with LED Backlight
-Corsair Vengeance Blue 16 GB PC3-12800 1600mHz DDR3 240-Pin SDRAM Dual Channel Memory Kit

These items, plus a wireless keyboard and windows 7 have my Amazon cart up to $1822.00. I figured some shopping around could get the over all cost down some.

My main concerns are the CPU and Asus board. I wanted an i7 and Asus P8Z68-V pro, but wasn't sure it would be better to go up to the deluxe. Then I thought if I waited another week, maybe I could get the Gen 3 version of the Asus Mobo.

If I wait for the Gen 3 version, then I would possibly keep any added cost in check by getting the i5 2500k. This with the thought that when the time came I could step up to what ever the new processor is at the time.