• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Budget board for i5-3570K

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

boswbr25

Hi all,

I am new to the Overclockers forum and really the overclocking world in general. I will be putting together my new computer shortly after Xmas because I am getting the i5-3570K for Xmas. I am kind of on a budget so I am wondering if anyone can suggest a decent motherboard that won't break my bank.

I am getting the "K" series so I definitely want something that has the ability to overclock, preferably z75/z77 from what I have read but I would be open to z68 too if you guys think it isn't too big of a loss.

I am wondering if the performance gain of the boards in the $120 range (such as MSI Z77A-G45 LGA 1155 Intel Z77) is worth it over those in the $80-90 range (i.e.- MSI Z77A-G41 LGA 1155 Intel Z77). Those were just a couple examples I saw on Newegg.

Thanks for any help,
Boz

:welcome: Welcome!
This one. Asrock Z77 Extreme 3

Also, to address your question, yes the boards in the $80 range will work, but overclocking on them might not work out so well in the long run. A lot of times they cut corners to get the prices so low which usually means no heatsinks on vital parts, etc. So it is worth it to spend a little extra, and get a board that can handle it.

Last edited:
Thanks for the quick replies. A couple of follow up questions that maybe you could answer.

I noticed that the Asrock Z77 Pro3 does not list the "Intel K-Series unlocked CPU" in the "Supported Technologies" section on Newegg as the Asrock Z77 Extreme 3 does.

Do you guys know if this really means anything? I thought all Z77 chipset motherboards supported overclocking so I do not understand what else K-series support could mean.