• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Building a Water Cooled Web Server

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ryandlf

Registered
I am a web developer and i'm building my own web server. Of course...because its just fun, I want to pimp this thing out. Below are my hardware selections and hopefully some of you that are better versed in server builds can help me out and let me know if these are good choices based on my needs, if they are compatible, and any other suggestions or recommendations.

I will be running a version of Ubuntu server, so hardware must be compatitible with this. The needs are specifically geared towards a web server. I will be hosting multiple sites which at the moment are low traffic, but my entire goal with this server is upgradability. If and when one of my sites begins bringing in heavy amounts of traffic I want to be able to upgrade this thing without having to rebuild an entire server. I want to build a little on the heavy end in case I want to host a site that does more video streaming type stuff etc etc. Basically a jack-of-all-trades server for hosting multiple projects and of course if one really takes off, then it will be moved to its own servers etc. At the moment is will serve a mysql database as well as the http requests. Eventually i'm sure i'll build a separate database server, but for right now i'm hoping this will do.

The motherboard
SUPERMICRO MBD-X8DTi-LN4F-O Dual LGA 1366 Intel 5520 Extended ATX Dual Intel Xeon 5500 and 5600 Series Server Motherboard