• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can I fairly easily upgrade my Athlon 850/Select?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

captainmpirical

Registered
Hello, Clockers. Anyone know if I can upgrade my Athlon 850/Select on my current motherboard?

(This Jabil [Kadoka] board sucks, without documentation!)
The Slot A processor is a K7850MPR52B A AMD. I guess that's a Pluto, Model 2.

I was hoping to do a CPU upgrade on this thing. I'm studying for an A+ Certification, and one of my labs is a CPU upgrade lab.
But, can I upgrade from Pluto to Thunderbird with my existing board and BIOS, which is 0AASNP06 AmiBIOS?
I upgraded from V5 to the V6 (0AASNP06), myself, so it doesn't scare me....but, I've never had to upgrade a BIOS because of getting a new chip.
I'm seriously broke, so cost is a factor.

What can I upgrade to with this board? Can I put in a T-bird Athlon 950? An Athlon 1100B? What are the constraints on this Jabil Kadoka (part# 4000673) as it relates to CPU upgrading? And, does BIOS matter, for CPU upgrades?

P.S. 1 of these days I plan on oc'ing this 850, but, now I need to get my A+ certification and make some bucks, first!

Whoa, thats some OLD stuff there.. I have no idea. Your best bet it to go the board makers website and see if they have a CPU compatibility chart for that board.

I don't think they do motherboards anymore (and don't carry specs on the old stuff). ... (Thanks, though! )

Yeah....that old Gateway Desktop (System Model "8DT-084_") was upgraded with (new mobo &) new chip (850/Select) by Gatway around September 2000. The chip has 2000 on it---12 years, and still going is fantastic!).

I know I'm going to have to chart system Wattage usage, and consider cooling--givens, so just need to know what else to do to prepare for, and upgrade.
--EDIT--