• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Car Stereo

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

express1500

Hi, i am new to this so you will have to forgive me if i do something wrong. I have a car stereo from a dodge grand caravan and for my junior year project i wanted to wire up a car stereo with a speaker or two and use it for home use. i do have a couple of pictures of it.
any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• radio front.jpg
    radio front.jpg
    156.3 KB · Views: 155
  • radio.jpg
    radio.jpg
    167.2 KB · Views: 154
  • wire 1.jpg
    wire 1.jpg
    119.5 KB · Views: 154
  • wire 2.jpg
    wire 2.jpg
    144.8 KB · Views: 151
you will have to get 12 volt power for the radio itself, could use a car battery and then charge it every so often. Normally if you try to charge it while in use you will get the 60hz through the speakers, and that is very anoying. You may be able to get away with a power converter, but they can get expensive if you need much current.

i have a computer power supply that i will be using with it i just need help with the wiring harness getting the power and speakers hooked up.
Thank You

If you can't find the wiring information online then go to an auto parts store and pick up either a Chiltons manual or a wiring harness which has the information for your vehicle included with it.

Thank you... i was gonna take a ride up to the auto parts store later today it dawned on me last night at work.
thank you

haynes manuals usually have wiring diagrams with colors of wires, or if you buy a harness intended to plug into factory harness and connecting aftermarket stereo, you could work backwards from that, it's wires should be labeled. should be able to find one at wal-mart for less than $15, at least the last one I got was less than 15.