• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

CNPS9500 good enough for Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz (9 x 333)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ImSpartacus

I'm really new to the whole overclocking concept. I think i have the basic math down, and I think I kno what I want, but I'm not sure what cooling i need (especially on hot C2Q's).

I am thinking about building a new PC, and I want to use a Q6600 when they drop to $266 on July 22, but I also would like to modestly overclock it. I think 3.0 GHz is good enough for a newbie goal.

so if I up to fsb to 133 MHz on a Q6600, what kind of cpu cooling would be necassary to ool it?

i want to stay on air, and i have heard good things about the Zalman CNPS9500, will this be enough, if not, what is necassary. I really want ot stay on air.

EDIT-damn, i put this is in water cooling, god i am such a noob... I'll just leave it here, sry guys.

The Zalman coolers are more your silent solution rather than performance. I would definitely pick up a Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme too cool down those 4 cores.

yeah, i was also looking at that too, and the scythe infinity. the infinity seems to be a little bigger, will that relate to better cooling compared to the ultra-120?

yeah, i was looking at some benches, and the ultra 120, the extreme and the monsoon II were the best. the monsoon looked a little too complicated with all the electrical stuff, i guess ill get the ultra 120, i dont think i need to get the extreme if im just oc'ing to 3.0 GHz. I'm not like you guys who max out.