• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

cooler master masterliquid lite 120 or 212x for overclocking i5 2500k

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bennykyu

hi recently i had a chance to get old legend i5 2500k from my relative, and i know that k series processor is overclockable. i am very new to pc word, and i would like to overclock it. through the research it sad that cooler master 212x can overclock the 2500k to 4.5ghz with no issue. but my case is k350 which state that it can not fit in the 212x, although i saw some thread said that he can fit it in. now i wonder will the cooler master masterliquid lite 120 works equally as the 212x? can i use that to boost my 2500k to 4.5ghz? and will it be noise as seidon 120mm v3?

Generally speaking a 120mm AIO is not recommended for overclocking. They lack the surface area to properly cool an overcooked CPU. I would venture to guess the 212x would cool better. But that cooler will not fit in your k350 case.

Options: If you want to limit you cost into this older build look at the Noctua NH-U9S or NH-D9L coolers. Both are low profile (under 130mm) and are effective at 140W. This will be your most cost effect route to OC that legendary 2500k. (Wish I had one)

If you're will to invest a couple hundos into this rig the I would look into a newer, more capable case. You don't need to go balls out and you can get decent quality for about $80. Look into cooler master & Rosewill. This will allow you to really open up you cooling options. The noctuas NH-D15, Phanteks PH-TC14PE, or Corsair Hydro h100i AIO (140mm x2) coolers come to mind.

Your case is almost 8" wide, I'd bet the CM 212X will fit. If not there are other heatsinks as per Blaylocks suggestion that will. The 2500k is a pretty simple chip to oc. Have a look at our guide.