• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cooling question with case fan/MOBO

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

647chang

Registered
I feel like a total noob. I have a MSI Z170A M5 MOBO and a NZXT H440 case. The MOBO has 2x cpu fan and 3x system fan. The case comes with a fan hub that connects to a total of 4 fans.

1. I'm using a Cryorig H7, I'm assuming I'm only going to plug the cooler to 1x CPUfan and leave the other one not plug in?

2. Does the case fan spin when the PC is turned on? What I mean by this, does it spin all the time?

3. Can you adjust the case fan's speed through MSI BOIS?

4. Can I add an additional fan to the 2nd CPUfan connector? I'm assuming the 2nd CPUfan will only kick on if the CPU gets to hot.

I feel like a total noob. I have a MSI Z170A M5 MOBO and a NZXT H440 case. The MOBO has 2x cpu fan and 3x system fan. The case comes with a fan hub that connects to a total of 4 fans.

1. I'm using a Cryorig H7, I'm assuming I'm only going to plug the cooler to 1x CPUfan and leave the other one not plug in?
Use a splitter.

2. Does the case fan spin when the PC is turned on? What I mean by this, does it spin all the time?
Yes. No.

3. Can you adjust the case fan's speed through MSI BOIS?
Depends on if they are PWM or not.

4. Can I add an additional fan to the 2nd CPUfan connector? I'm assuming the 2nd CPUfan will only kick on if the CPU gets to hot.
See above. Your assumption is incorrect.

Some of your questions need some clarification but I'll address the best I can with some general guidelines.