• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Fractal Nexus 9P Slim Fan Hub

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tyerker

This is my first time working with a fan hub. I'll be using an air cooler with 2 fans and 5 case fans in my Torrent case.

1672355239745.png

The manual says to connect the hub to the CPU Fan port on the motherboard, and it looks like then the actual CPU fan is supposed to daisy chain off of the hub. This seems like needless wires run around the case compared to using the CPU Fan headers right next to the socket.

Does anyone know if connecting the input of this fan hub to one of the Chassis Fan ports would cause any issues? I'm thinking the main intention is that every fan can ramp equally with the CPU fan profile, but I don't think that's what I want. I think I'd prefer to use the BIOS Fan settings to adjust to the CPU, and then the Chassis fans can still be set up to react to system temp on a different curve. I just want to make sure there's not some deeper reason why the hub connects to the CPU header, so I don't screw anything up or short something out.

I have looked at similar fan hubs and always thought it was odd, and kinda stupid, to ramp all the case fans with the CPU fan. The instructions might be done that way because many older motherboards don't have any PWM chassis fan headers. My Z87 board only has one for the chassis fan & one (maybe two) for the CPU fan. If you confirm that you have a true PWM chassis fan header on your mobo, I don't see why that wouldn't work. BTW, not all 4 pin headers are PWM, that's why I suggest verifying with the mobo manual.