• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Do I have to worry about some spacing for Heatsinks? No cutout behind mobo?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pmap93

Registered
Hello!

I'm new to heatsinks section :D I've never really installed a heatsink before.

though Im wondering, if there is some sort of spacing required for the brackets behind the motherboard?

Because nowadays, CPU cases has a cutout behind the motherboard for easy install of heatsinks.

Unfortunately, I have a Cooler Master Cosmos S, and there's no cutout :(

it'll go right in, coolermaster has made sure your backplate will clear.

Thanks! Good to know, caddi daddi. :D is there a standard spacing required though? Like height of backplate screws? 5mm or something?

Just out of curiosity though EarthDog, how did you raise the mobo? Taller standoffs? :)

Yes, standoffs do come in different heights if you need to get taller ones. You can find them on ebay or purchase them from specialty computer supply companies like Sidewinder or Frozen PC. But I wouldn't worry about it. I would be surprised if there was not enough space to accommodate the cooler back plate. As ED said, there tend to be standards for these things that people engineer components to comply with.

The bigger concern in general is the clearance to the side panel. Most good aftermarket tower style heat sinks that use 120mm fans are about 160mm tall. If your case is not more than about 7.5" wide across the top you may not be able to accommodate one of these. But the case you have is more than wide enough to give the necessary clearance to the side panel.

Actually I have yet to see some coolers but I just got worried about the backplate height clearance.

I was thinking maybe one of those silent, self-contained cooling systems like Corsair H100.