• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Dont know what to do!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JPetrillo

Hello everyone :cool:

I'm new to overclocking. Here's my deal: I'll be building my new gaming rig in about a month or two at most. It will be A64 3500+ on that new MSI Neo2 that isnt out yet. I'm going to want to do some overclocking with it, but since I have very little experiance with O/C I figured I should first practice on my cheaper hardware I have now, so I did.

Right now I'm running:
AMD Duron 1.8GHz
ASUS A7V266-E
768MB RAM (Crucial, PC2100 if I remember correctly)

So, my goal was to experiment with overclocking to get some experiance and try and get my Duron 1.8 to run at 2.0GHz. I was reading a lot on the net where people with the Duron 1.6 where getting their's up to 2.3GHz - 2.5GHz range!! So I figured it would be no problem to hit only 2.0GHz (my goal) with my Duron 1.8... NOT!

My Default Settings:
CPU:System Frequency Multiple [13.5x]
System/PCI Frequency (MHz) [133/33]
System/SDRAM Frequency Ratio [Auto]
CPU Vcore [1.65V]

Multi is locked, cant change that. So in order to get to my goal of 2.0GHz the ONLY thing I did was increase the System/PCI Frequency from 133/33 to 149/37, one MHz at a time. This brought me right up to 2.0GHz, just as I wanted! :D

So here where my O/C settings at that time:
System/PCI Frequency (MHz) [149/37]
CPU Vcore [1.65V]

With these settings I was able to boot into Windows and see that it was indeed runing @ 2.0GHz. So I started to run Sandra CPU benchmark to see how stable it was before I started pushing it up anymore... it wouldnt run for longer than 2 minutes after the Benchmark would start, just kept shutting down :(