• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Dual Monitors with Laptop-- Only One Monitor Provides Sound-- Why?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Viper69

This is my first time setting up dual monitors. I'll provide as much as I know.

Laptop: Dell Latitude Model E7240 >> http://www.dell.com/en-us/work/shop...-ultrabook-e7240/spd/latitude-e7240-ultrabook

Connected to identical Viewsonic VX2478-smhd displays.

I'm running Win10 64bit.

The left monitor (#2 according to Win10) is connected by the mini-display port from monitor and into the mini-display port of the laptop.

The right monitor (#3 according to Win10) is connected by the HDMI port from the monitor, and into the laptop's HDMI port.

Monitor 1 is the laptop, I keep it closed.

When I open FF and play a video from YouTube, or some video from a newsite, regardless of where the browser is located, (#2 or #3), I only hear sound from the monitor on the right w/the HDMI cable.

I thought mini-DP port/cables can carrier audio....am I wrong on this?

I'd appreciate any help/guidance on this one.

Thanks in advance

Have you gone into the Sound Control Panel and changed the default device? Usually sound will go to one of the outputs by default and you need to change it yourself to the other if thats what you want it to do. I have 2x DisplayPort monitors and depending on what one I turn on first, it will switch audio between them, which for me is a PITA as I want to use my headphones instead. The only way I have found to force always to one output is disable the others in the sound control panel other than the one you want to use.

They can carry Audio, but you have one source and one destination for the audio per your windows mixer settings. Having multiple monitors isn't like having a receiver with surround sound speakers.