• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Fan/pump controller question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Stubby5000

I'm new to watercooling and I'm trying to tackle a pretty ambitious first build which involves putting the radiator/fan unit into a desk drawer, then having the computer in the drawer below. I will have a two 280mm rads in a dedicated loop for both CPU and GPU. I'm trying to figure out how to control the fans. Ideally I could find a controller that would allow individual control of each loop's fans/pump, with the option for manual and "auto" (i.e., governed by PWM rules in the bios) operation. Does something like that exist? Also, how will I control the pump speed? Is it also controlled with a 4-pin PWM? Are there controllers/hubs that can separate out fan speed and pump speed on the same circuit? Also, can someone explain what this is?

https://www.ekwb.com/shop/ek-cable-pwm-fan-adapter-for-gpu-50cm

Conceptually I understand it, but where does it plug in?

Thanks for the help. As I said, I'm new to this and trying to learn... ;-)

Can't figure the EK fan adapter out either. The plug on the one end doesn't look like it would fit in any standard connectors I know. I can't imagine being able to control pumps both with PWM and manually. Manual controls are generally analogue devices.

So how do most people control their pumps? Do they hook in to PWM somehow? Or do people use a manual switch? Also, don't the pumps need to be running for a few seconds before the rest of the computer powers on? If so, how is this accomplished?

- - - Updated - - -

Anyone else have any thoughts on that adapter? Is it common to use separate fan speeds for GPU and CPU, or do most people just have everything go the same speed?