• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First ever Gaming PC build - Advice needed!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

heat63

Hello! This is my first post here at Overclockers.net. I have been browsing for a while trying to learn as much as I could. I have never built my own PC so I'm a bit of a noob. I have wanted to do my own tower build for a while now. Specifically, a high performance gaming tower. I would also like to learn how to overclock to safe levels. I have set a budget of about $1500 (money isn't a huge issue, but I want to stay reasonable as there's no need for me to spend more than what I need, especially when technology changes so rapidly, at the same time I still must have all very high quality parts).

I already have an OS, monitor,mouse,keyboard. I have done quite a bit of research over the past few weeks on each part and on highly recommended components. Here is my tentative build below. There are a few pieces I am seeking advice on and those are noted below. It would be incredibly helpful and awesome if I could get some advice from some of you knowledgeable people here.

Case - COOLER MASTER HAF 912 | http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119233

I'm up in the air with this. It looks like a solid case and is extremely cheap at under 60 bucks. As long, as it will fit the components I want, I think I would be happy with it. At the same time, please let me know If any of the parts I've chosen will have a problem with this mid case. Also, if there is another case someone really recommend under 100 bucks, please let me know. It must be a mid tower though. I watched a review and it said this case didn't have a removable motherboard tray. Is this something I should be concerned about or may be a nice feature to have?