• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First PC build, help appreciated

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mshackwho

Hi, this is the first time I attempt to build my PC from scratch and would like to ask you guys if the below combination works.

I'm really new at this so I really appreciate inputs and advise. And forgive me if i mention anything wrongly.

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT
CPU: Intel LGA1150 4790K
HDD: Seagate 7200rpm 3TB
RAM: G-Skill RipJawX 1866MHz CL9, 16GB kit
VGA: Sapphire R9 280X 3GB Tri-X Vapor-X STD
Case: Fractal Design R5 Titanium
PSU: Seasonic M12II-750W EVO Modular 80+

Thank You

Regards.

I don't see anything that wouldn't work there.

The only change I would make is to pick up a decent-sized solid state drive (I've been seeing Crucial 240GB and Samsung 840/850 Evo 250GB) for less than $100 regularly.

I don't see anything that wouldn't work there.

The only change I would make is to pick up a decent-sized solid state drive (I've been seeing Crucial 240GB and Samsung 840/850 Evo 250GB) for less than $100 regularly.

Thanks for you input. Will reconsider my budget and see if I could add in a SSD.

If you needed to cut some off of that, the 750W Power Supply is overkill for your build (by a couple hundred watts) unless you eventually plan to add a second card for Xfire you can drop off some there.

Also, the 16GB is generally unnecessary by today's standards and you can pretty easily get by with 8GB of RAM without any real issue (Depending on your needs of the system)

In my opinion getting 1 kit 16 GB its too much, also 750W Power suplly is waaaaay to much till u dont plan to put CrossFire.

RAM: I'd preffer getting 2x4GB 2133 MHz kits.
Power: 600-650 is pretty enough

SSD: If there are some money left in your pocket: hell yea!

+1 to Janus...