• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First time water cooling need advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SL

As you might have guessed I am new to watercooling, I read a good amount of guides on it so I think I know what I am doing. Just need a sanity check and some advice/tips.

I'm going to watercool a 7990 and a 5820k (read lower clocked 4960X since 5820k isn't out yet) I don't plan on overclocking or adding more components to the loop later on.

So here's the challange, I want to cool them with a single radiator. So I am going to do some casemodding to fit a nexxxos monsta 360 or 420 in the front of the case. For fans I am planning on getting the new industrialPPC noctua ones probably the 3k rpm ones and I'll mess around with fan curves to make them quiet at idle and bearable at load.

Is it do-able? Any advice on maybe fans that would perform better with the rad or the other way around a better 360/420 rad to go with the 3k industrialPPC fans, better rad/fan combinations in general.

Is the performance gain from 140mm rads still negligible because 120mm has better fans and smaller "dead spot" behind the motor of the fan? Or would a 420mm rad be noticably better compared to a 360 if using the right fans/the industrialPPC ones from noctua?

You can reduce the impact of the fan hub by getting some fan shrouds.

I would stick to a 360mm Monsta, with the IndustrialPPC 3K RPM PWM fans.
Grab a Swiftech PWM Splitter to control them all at once via a motherboard header and software.

I totally agree with getting more powerful fans for when needed and then running them quiet, but if it were me, since 99% of time 1000 rpms will cool everything without issue since you are not overclocking, I would make sure those 3000 rpm fans can run at 1000 rpms (much quieter speed) without issue.