• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

getting as much as i can out of my 8350

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pupupuputter

ok i am somewhat new to overclocking but i know some basics like voltages increase for stability i have a vishera 8350 with corsair 1050 psu my mobo is the asrock 990fx extreme9 and my ram is kingston hyperx 1600 16 gb (2x8gb) the 8350 is liquid cooled by the cooler master nepton 280l maybe xl dont have the box on hand and it has an r9 290x gpu if that matters about anything i want to try to get this to highest i can stable hence the large cooling unit and help will be greatly appreciated.

pup, welcome to the forum. A couple of things you may want to do, Download Hwmonitor, Cpu-Z and prime95. I would start out by opening Hwmonitor and running prime blend torture test for 20 minutes. Then post screen shots of Hwmonitor and the following tabs in Cpu-Z, Cpu, Spd and memory. Use the in forum attachment tool, which is in the "advanced" post window. Click on the paperclip and attach the screen shot. This will give us a peek under the hood to see what is what with the system at stock settings and how much headroom you have for overclocking temperature wise. Also take some time to read the bulldozer overclocking guide it will give you a better idea of what will be asked of you and what you'll need to know.