• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME EATX AM4 Motherboard - any non EATX option out there?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MitchV

So I'm starting to pick parts for a new build... I'm long overdue and I'd like to build a 3900X machine.

My question is whether or not there is a better silent option for an X570 motherboard and/or a corresponding case. I'd like to get something fairly futureproof. I'm disappointed to learn that the PCIE 4.0 NVME drives really aren't outperforming the PCIE 3.0... but perhaps that will change in the future.

Does anyone have experience with this motherboard, particularly with any of the parts below? Maybe I'm just making too many concessions for the X570 chipset.

-- More details --

I'm a software engineer, I do a bit of graphics work, I need a machine to transcode video (plex server)... so I'm looking forward to building an updated box. There appears to be little room to OC these new Ryzen CPUs, but given the performance/value, I'm good with that and have no plans to push this hardware. High on my priority list is a quiet machine. I have an aversion to noisy machines to the point that I am happy to pay good money for quiet parts.

The Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME EATX AM4 Motherboard seems like the best board for my build for the simple reason that it has passive cooling. It may sound silly... but that's why I'm planning to buy that board.

I'm putting my parts list together and realize that PC Partpicker website will no longer give me the option for a Fractal R6 case. I realize that the Fractal R6 is an ATX case and my selected motherboard is an EATX. The R6 supports motherboards up to 285mm in width, I look at the Gigabyte specs and this thing is 12" (305mm)?!?!?!?! Is this accurate?