• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Graphics Cards - CrossFire & Dual vs Single?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pavloschristo

Hi there. This is my first post on this forum.

I am looking to buy and build a new gaming system this summer, which will be my second. However I am still learning all about the different components and what to look for. When I bought my first system 3 years ago I didn't really know what I was doing and a friend of mine helped to pick out what I should get. I am wanting to upgrade to a system which will last me a good 5+ years with reliability and most importantly still being able to play and run future games with ease. One thing I haven't managed to get my head around is the CrossFire feature with AMD graphic cards. What are the benefits of having a dual Graphic card system? How do I fully utilize them?

For my new system, I am currently looking at 2 Graphic cards, the 'Gigabyte ATI Radeon HD 7950 Windoforce 3X 3072MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card' and the 'Sapphire HD 7870 XT rev2.0 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card'. Would having a dual card system massively improve the fps and graphics of my games or would I hardly notice a difference compared to using only one. My main problem at the moment is the budget I'm on, and I'm looking to save money where I can, although I am happy to spend the majority of it on good graphic cards if it is worth it. Should I buy a single Gigabyte card (which is slightly better than the sapphire) and this would be satisfactory, or would I benefit greatly from going with getting 2 Sapphire cards instead. Or would it be worth the extra buck buying 2 Gigabyte cards? Or would having two just be unnecessary?

If this is important the games I mostly play are FarCry 3, Assassin's Creed, Call of Duty, GTA. Mostly those genre of games.