• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help needed in tweaking an 8570p Elitebook on a budget

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cantabile

Hello all,

I basically have this machine:
http://www.provantage.com/hewlett-packard-hp-e1y29ut-aba~7HEWW3M8.htm
ie. HP Elitebook 8570p, i5-3340m, 1366 x 768 screen, ships with 4GB RAM. The only difference between the model I linked to is that my machine has the AMD Radeon HD 7570M dedicated graphics card.

I'm trying to purpose-build this laptop for 2 tasks:
1. I work as a writer and have lots of small sensitive files, so I'm looking for excellent data reliability and backup options.
2. I also screencast, thus I will be hooking the 2 USB 3.0 to a document camera and USB mic, and from there I will be recording screen/voice. Obviously I'll need decent performance for this, though I'm not sure how much is truly necessary.

I have about 300 dollars to upgrade the machine (I bought the raw laptop for 700 at the HP outlet).

In terms of upgrades, I'd like to ask about a couple issues: