• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help on a gaming build!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kingsmen

Hello,
I currently game on my laptop (i7 4700mq, gtx 765m, 8gb ram) and would like to build a desktop primarily for gaming (I also do a tad of video editing and music production.)
I am new to building computers but would like to make it a hobby.
I am looking to be building it this November and would like your advice on components. My budget is ~£1100 but my build is turning out to be more like £1300. I don’t want to sacrifice performance but if there are any ways to make this build cheaper that would be good!
So far I’m thinking:
Intel i7 4790k 4.0ghz - or maybe an AMD Piledriver FX-8 Eight Core FX-9370 Black Edition 4.40GHz (4.70GHz Turbo) which is about half the price
Gigabyte G1 windforce 3x OC gtx 970 4GB
16GB RAM (Kingston HyperX Fury be alright?)
MSI Z97 gaming 5 Intel Z97 (Socket 1150) DDR3 -- overkill?
PSU – no clue (750w or higher/lower?)
1TB HDD – plan to add more later
60GB SSD – for windows 8.1
24x DVDr/w drive
NZXT Source 530 Full Tower Chassis

Cooling:
Should I water cool cpu or just use heatsink?
ten 120mm fans
Monitor:
Some 23 inch IPS around £100
I think that’s it.

Help is much appreciated thanks!
kingsmen

Forget about AMD for gaming : it's a power house, will heat your room even in the cold winter nights and is far behind Intel (a 4690K somes it gaming wise actually)

I'd go GSKill Trident X: they OC like mad (used to run my 2*8GB 1866/Cl8v@2133/Cl8).

Avoid MSI boards, Asrock z97 Extreme 6 would be my choice.

Get a 120GB SSD at the very least. I'd get a Samsung 840 Evo 250GB.

PSU: I have a couple of Corsair CX600M and am very happy with : they can run a couple of 970's in SLI if needed. If you want a little more power, grab an eVGA 750W supernova.